Baskets: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 22, 2016
Something is off about all these people, but most of them-and even the supposed cultural wasteland of Bakersfield-can be looked at with tenderness for the joy they bring.
January 25, 2016
There's something here worth keeping an eye on - the people, really. Galifianakis, Anderson and especially Kelly fill Baskets with possibility, even if it's not exactly brimming with energy from the onset.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 22, 2016
If you're on its level, Baskets is very, very funny, but more than that, it contains a unique, subdued beauty like few other TV shows on the air right now.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 22, 2016
[Galifianakis is] really, really good at drawing the humor out of that kind of character, and maybe the most promising thing about this new series is watching him take that in a deeper, stranger direction. I'm excited to see where it goes.
January 21, 2016
I can't willingly tell you to choose to endure a world so crushingly cruel and myopic that doesn't offer any synthesis or revelation, especially because it's a world that has been so well-plumbed before.
January 21, 2016
I just realized I started this review saying I didn't quite warm to Baskets, but here I am comparing Galifianakis to Richard Dreyfuss in Close Encounters... I guess I like it, then. Maybe being not quite like anything you've seen is enough.
January 21, 2016
Baskets builds into a character-study treasure, much like FX precursor Louie.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 21, 2016
When a Pierrot is gored by a bull, one should be worried, not thrilled. But Baskets is so smug, so condescending to everyone around him that for just a moment, we're rooting for that bull.
January 21, 2016
Not unusually, the show gathers depth and delicacy with time and context and as characters come into focus and into different configurations. Down to the smallest speaking part, the actors are well cast and unusually believable.
January 21, 2016
A comedy that inspires more pathos than laughter isn't necessarily failed. It just might be mislabeled.
January 21, 2016
Anderson is an odd ray of sweetness inside all of Baskets' bitterness, and it's hard not to laugh at that.
January 21, 2016
As we all know from the Hangover movies, a little Galifianakis goes a very long way. It's good to know there's something more to Baskets than a creep in greasepaint. The delicious misery here is evenly spread.
January 21, 2016
The odd appeal of the whole show [is] an absurdity that is disturbing real, funny at times, and depressing at others.
January 21, 2016
In the very likable Baskets... pathos and indignity are the dominant tones.
January 20, 2016
While there are some funny moments in Baskets, it's as dry as the Bakersfield landscape if you're looking for laugh-out-loud jokes or situations.
January 20, 2016
Between its Marcel Marceau aspirations and its bull-taunting stunts, it's a good mix of highbrow humor and silly, kick-in-the-pants laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 20, 2016
Galifianakis delivers a remarkable performance, connected enough to his star persona to make the work accessible but pitched at a new level of mania.
January 20, 2016
Its trials and tribulations pole vault over those on HBO's Girls, but without getting all whiny and preachy about it. Galifianakis, Anderson and Kelly fit their roles like the thick rubber gloves used in emptying human waste from portable johns.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 19, 2016
Baskets is bold, it is courageous, but it doesn't really work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 19, 2016
I will say this: Louie Anderson is the best part of this show. If you haven't yet, don't even look up the reason why. Just watch.
Page 1 of 2