Battlestar Galactica: Season 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 23, 2020
There are certainly a number of issues that continue to haunt the show, but the story is infinitely fascinating regardless and we can't wait to see how things play out.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 23, 2020
The mutiny storyline was the highlight of the season, which overall had an unusual number of highs and lows - there were very strong episodes and storylines throughout, but usually some noteworthy weaker elements would also show up along the way.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 23, 2020
With a renewed sense of purpose and enthusiasm season four is more cohesive and creatively invigorating than the third installment of the series, which often felt disjointed and needlessly didactic.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 23, 2020
This final season of BSG surely contains many faults, most of which are the direct result of mysteries the show had imposed on itself. But when it comes time to send off the crew of Galactica, it is done in the small moments, just as it should be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 23, 2020
It's a relief to have the series back to pick up a strange, uneven TV season.
January 23, 2020
The return of Battlestar Galactica reminds us why it's so often considered one of the best shows on television.
January 22, 2020
Most of what's in these ten episodes seems designed to get your hopes up even while the showrunners are busy dashing them, and perhaps most noticeable is the fact that the show has become more depressing and fatalistic than ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 14, 2018
There was some disappointment, yes, but god damned the episode was absolutely breathtaking. On the whole, it was a relatively worthy conclusion to a groundbreaking series, albeit with a manipulative coda.
January 2, 2018
After anxious months of geeky Web speculation over how Battlestar's final season will conclude, the best thing about "He That Believeth in Me" was how it bypassed our feverish expectations and instead set up new central conflicts.
January 2, 2018
The series continues to transcend the sci-fi genre and bring out real emotions, social issues and conflict.
January 2, 2018
And even though this particular episode may not have been able to clear the yawning chasm of our expectations, it was an appropriate conclusion to one of the most poignant, smart and relevant television shows of the last decade.
January 2, 2018
I don't mean to sound flippant. I kind of like the audacity of a sci-fi series getting this explicitly spiritual in explaining its mythology.
January 2, 2018
For a series that had always used familiar trappings of sci-fi like robots and spaceships to comment on our present-day circumstances, it was the perfect final sequence.
January 2, 2018
Tonight's Battlestar Galactica finale was a cop out, but it was also the perfect goodbye. Ron Moore dropped the ball on plot but as always, the show delivered where it really mattered.
January 2, 2018
So, overall, I was fully satisfied with the ending, and I don't feel like I wasted four seasons of televisions.
Top Critic
January 2, 2018
Tonight's episode is superb, and barrels - relentlessly - toward the answers.
January 2, 2018
To be honest, I'm weary of Baltar and his endless visions/hallucinations, as I am of the fleet's wandering as the surviving colonists try, somewhat fitfully, to find their way back to a home planet none of them remembers.
October 20, 2017
Season Four, broadcast in two chunks with a climbing-the-wall break due to the writers' strike, proved the most challenging, soul-searching and devastatingly turbulent yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 12, 2017
The thing with shows such as BSG and the brilliant cop drama The Wire is that they set the bar so high in terms of sheer entertainment, that it is almost impossible for them to consistently deliver the levels of excellence we've greedily come to expect.
October 12, 2017
Yes there were missteps, but this will be remembered as a show delivering compelling, emotional moments in nearly every episode, along with some of the most layered and thought-provoking situations and characters you'd find on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
Page 1 of 2