Battlestar Galactica: Season 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 14, 2018
There was some disappointment, yes, but god damned the episode was absolutely breathtaking. On the whole, it was a relatively worthy conclusion to a groundbreaking series, albeit with a manipulative coda.
January 2, 2018
After anxious months of geeky Web speculation over how Battlestar's final season will conclude, the best thing about "He That Believeth in Me" was how it bypassed our feverish expectations and instead set up new central conflicts.
January 2, 2018
The series continues to transcend the sci-fi genre and bring out real emotions, social issues and conflict.
January 2, 2018
And even though this particular episode may not have been able to clear the yawning chasm of our expectations, it was an appropriate conclusion to one of the most poignant, smart and relevant television shows of the last decade.
January 2, 2018
I don't mean to sound flippant. I kind of like the audacity of a sci-fi series getting this explicitly spiritual in explaining its mythology.
January 2, 2018
For a series that had always used familiar trappings of sci-fi like robots and spaceships to comment on our present-day circumstances, it was the perfect final sequence.
January 2, 2018
Tonight's Battlestar Galactica finale was a cop out, but it was also the perfect goodbye. Ron Moore dropped the ball on plot but as always, the show delivered where it really mattered.
January 2, 2018
So, overall, I was fully satisfied with the ending, and I don't feel like I wasted four seasons of televisions.
Top Critic
January 2, 2018
Tonight's episode is superb, and barrels - relentlessly - toward the answers.
January 2, 2018
To be honest, I'm weary of Baltar and his endless visions/hallucinations, as I am of the fleet's wandering as the surviving colonists try, somewhat fitfully, to find their way back to a home planet none of them remembers.
October 20, 2017
Season Four, broadcast in two chunks with a climbing-the-wall break due to the writers' strike, proved the most challenging, soul-searching and devastatingly turbulent yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 12, 2017
The thing with shows such as BSG and the brilliant cop drama The Wire is that they set the bar so high in terms of sheer entertainment, that it is almost impossible for them to consistently deliver the levels of excellence we've greedily come to expect.
October 12, 2017
Yes there were missteps, but this will be remembered as a show delivering compelling, emotional moments in nearly every episode, along with some of the most layered and thought-provoking situations and characters you'd find on television.
October 12, 2017
I HAVE NEVER IN MY LIFE YELLED AT A SHOW LIKE THIS. I WAS ROOTING FOR YOU. WE WERE ALL ROOTING FOR YOU! HOW DARE YOU!
October 12, 2017
There is no doubt that the tour-de-force performance of Edward James Olmos as Admiral William Adama will rank among the best heroes in TV history.
October 12, 2017
Much has been made of the show's embrace of major social themes and plot points that recalled current events, but it also combined a heady brew of pulp fiction, religious mysticism and solid character drama.
October 12, 2017
A lot of basic and mundane things don't add up for me.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 12, 2017
My take on the Battlestar Galactica series finale was that it was 99% incredibly satisfying and delivered beyond what I was hoping for. In the end, it seems destiny will be what it will be, much like fighting gravity.
October 12, 2017
Somehow, out of all the doom and gloom, death, destruction and nihilism we've had, Battlestar Galactica finished with something approaching a happy ending.
April 4, 2008
Battlestar is never more enjoyable than when Mary McDonnell's President Laura Roslin is spouting this stuff to a dubious but smitten Adama.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 2