Better Call Saul: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 18, 2018
We already know where Jimmy eventually ends up, but as Better Call Saul charts his path deeper into corruption, Gilligan's spinoff is only bound to get more addictive.
October 17, 2017
After one mouth-watering instalment, promises to be as much fun as the first one.
September 21, 2017
Better Call Saul points the way to a new sort of TV drama-one that takes flawed characters as a given, but uses those flaws to challenge our assumptions about what "good" and "bad" even mean.
April 19, 2017
There are no lazy shortcuts here. The writing is excellent and the plot is great - all held together by a compelling array of characters.
March 28, 2017
The new season has proven to be even stronger, funnier, and more focused than the first.
April 20, 2016
It's Jimmy's thorny relationships... that made up the most involving elements of Better Call Saul's sorrowful, emotionally knotty, fantastic follow-up season.
April 6, 2016
Entering its second... Better Call Saul is not the best drama on TV. But it's one of the most unusual and daring.
March 10, 2016
Better Call Saul's new season jumps right back in to the Sandpiper case, law firm culture, Chuck and Jimmy's now-frosty relationship, as well as Jimmy's budding romance with Kim, and his association with Mike
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0/5
March 7, 2016
In the superb new season, it's still 2002, and Jimmy hasn't transformed into Saul yet. But he's a ticking time bomb.
March 7, 2016
Saying that Better Call Saul season two is not quite as good as season one is praising with faint criticism. It's still funnier and more interesting than just about anything on television.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 16, 2016
It kills me to do this. I adored Breaking Bad, loved the character of Saul... But two episodes into the second season of Better Call Saul... I've got to admit to myself: it's not working.
February 16, 2016
The return of Better Call Saul is welcome. And, first and foremost, it is a lesson in storytelling technique.
February 16, 2016
What's so brilliant about this show is that we know the answer is no. Jimmy will ruin himself. Even though the season starts off with a spoiler, it's still a thrill to watch.
February 16, 2016
While a starkly different show to the operatic Breaking Bad, in its own right Better Call Saul is turning into a major triumph and appointment viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
February 15, 2016
That Jimmy's sibling rivalry feels worth investing in speaks to how self-assured Saul continues to be in season two.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 15, 2016
We know the destination; the only mystery is the journey. And as if often the case with character transformation, I suspect the rate of change will appear slow, then finish with a flurry.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 15, 2016
All of which is to say that Better Call Saul season two is not yet as gripping as season one's best episodes were. But there's plenty of reasons to bet it soon could be.
February 15, 2016
The saving grace so far in Season 2 is the steady, mildly menacing presence of Mike Ehrmentraut... another classic Breaking Bad character, able to dominate his world from the cashier booth of a municipal parking lot.
February 12, 2016
The writing on Better Call Saul is as tight as any show on television, with every scene feeling like it has thematic or narrative purpose without being overwritten.
Top Critic
February 12, 2016
One of TV's best gets better.
Page 1 of 2