Big Little Lies: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
June 18, 2019
With [Meryl] Streep on board, we're guaranteed for an exciting Season 2.
June 11, 2019
The entire second season works better than it has any right to...
June 10, 2019
I'm still not sure I can say that the return of Big Little Lies is altogether necessary. But I can say that it promises to be thoroughly enjoyable and smart.
June 10, 2019
Although Big Little Lies doesn't seem entirely sure of where it's headed, it can still work itself up into a delectably roiling state of privilege and anger.
June 10, 2019
[Meryl] Streep gives Mary Louise a vicious and eerily hilarious maternal edge. She is clearly having a ball. I can't wait to see how her story line expands.
June 10, 2019
Murder may be murder, but sisterhood dovetails with executive producer [Reese] Witherspoon's girl power brand.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 24, 2019
By leaning into exaggeration this season, though, Big Little Lies has made its more sober elements feel like afterthoughts to jokes about the ridiculousness of Californians and self-absorbed stay-at-home moms.
June 21, 2019
The misery of beautiful people continues to be a moral as well as aesthetic pleasure as Big Little Lies continues its second series.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 19, 2019
What an excellent first episode; out of the traps like a greyhound and with great dialogue - no second series slump here.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 19, 2019
If the show isn't the singular masterpiece of the first season, that's because that season was truly meant to be singular. But coming close to meeting a bar set that high is still worth toasting with a glass of champagne over a gorgeous fire pit.
June 19, 2019
Episode one came charging out of the traps with a glint in its eye and vengeance in its heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 19, 2019
It's unclear what new conflicts the women will get themselves embroiled in, but from the first episode, it'll obviously be a fun ride.
June 19, 2019
Meryl Streep plays Mary Louise, and of course, well she is Meryl Streep and the acting is fabulous. Her grief over a son she thought was perfect is illustrated in a very real way.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.0/10
June 18, 2019
It was as good as any drama I have seen in the past decade, and still is. I just hope it goes somewhere new too.
June 17, 2019
The women are so vividly drawn and so arrestingly played by such a stellar cast.
June 17, 2019
The early episodes of Big Little Lies suggest a masterful extension as the key characters are given meaty storylines to work with.
June 17, 2019
No one's been handed anything approaching as good a storyline as Streep, not yet - Bonnie's whole narrative is now "walking", which gives Zoë Kravitz nothing to work with.
June 17, 2019
Wonderfully watchable.
June 14, 2019
Big Little Lies might have more petrol left in the tank
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 13, 2019
Beyond the staggering strength of the actresses on screen and talent behind the camera, there's a story of friendship, found comraderies in the spirits of women and general intrigue and drama that keeps us looking forward to what is going to happen next.
June 10, 2019
Happily enough these first few episodes are just as engrossing as those that came before. Scenes rapidly fluctuate from concerning to hilarious, but keeping up with the pace is no problem: This emotional roller coaster is far too fun.
June 7, 2019
Those who love this series are likely to love these new hours just as well. As for we few who weren't entirely swept up, one can't quite say there isn't enough of a story to merit a new season of this drama.
June 7, 2019
It's harder now to ignore, watching the early episodes of Season Two, that Big Little Lies is offering up some of the best psychological storytelling on television.
June 7, 2019
It looks great, sounds great, and is populated with some of the best actors on a very crowded planet.
Page 1 of 4