Big Little Lies: Season 2 Reviews

March 15, 2021
Big Little Lies' depiction of domestic violence and trauma is so powerful precisely because it allows its leads to be more than victims, more than wives, more than mothers.
March 15, 2021
Yet for all the series' careful, at times heartrending attention to the nuances of trauma, misogyny, and emotional dissatisfaction, the distinctive pleasure of Big Little Lies also resides in its soapiness.
November 23, 2019
A lot feels unrealistic here. Celeste is in therapy, but her kids, who are fighting all the time, are not. And characters drop lines that underline their every feeling, as if the audience wouldn't get it otherwise.
July 23, 2019
A melodrama that didn't have the courage to go the full camp; that puttered and faltered and finally fell over the Californian cliffs and into the sea.
July 20, 2019
Season two wasn't unwatchable; in fact, despite many nonsensical developments, it was compelling because of the returning cast plus Streep... [But] it did need saving.
July 18, 2019
With more empathetic writing, Bonnie could have been the emotional anchor of season two.
July 3, 2019
Big Little Lies will never be without its pleasures. But this season, those pleasures feel divided.
July 1, 2019
What I appreciate about this season of Big Little Lies is its messiness; it feels undone somehow, and ragged. It's harder on its characters; it doesn't coddle them in cashmere but shoves them right into the deep end.
June 25, 2019
Its nuanced look at the ways that domestic violence can remain hidden from public view is one of the series' most important additions to the cultural conversation.
June 21, 2019
The misery of beautiful people continues to be a moral as well as aesthetic pleasure as Big Little Lies continues its second series.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 19, 2019
What an excellent first episode; out of the traps like a greyhound and with great dialogue - no second series slump here.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 18, 2019
It was as good as any drama I have seen in the past decade, and still is. I just hope it goes somewhere new too.
June 18, 2019
With [Meryl] Streep on board, we're guaranteed for an exciting Season 2.
June 17, 2019
The early episodes of Big Little Lies suggest a masterful extension as the key characters are given meaty storylines to work with.
June 17, 2019
No one's been handed anything approaching as good a storyline as Streep, not yet - Bonnie's whole narrative is now "walking", which gives Zoë Kravitz nothing to work with.
June 11, 2019
The entire second season works better than it has any right to...
June 11, 2019
A second season was a creative risk. But so far that decision to continue the story is one well worth following.
June 10, 2019
I'm still not sure I can say that the return of Big Little Lies is altogether necessary. But I can say that it promises to be thoroughly enjoyable and smart.
June 10, 2019
Although Big Little Lies doesn't seem entirely sure of where it's headed, it can still work itself up into a delectably roiling state of privilege and anger.
June 10, 2019
[Meryl] Streep gives Mary Louise a vicious and eerily hilarious maternal edge. She is clearly having a ball. I can't wait to see how her story line expands.