Black Mirror: Bandersnatch Reviews

Apr 29, 2021
Whatever Bandersnatch is, it's really unlike any other form of storytelling anywhere else, and for that it deserves celebration. Is it a new way of filmmaking that would work for other stories? Probably not. It's a fun gimmick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jan 27, 2021
The pure joy of this episode is that we have absolutely no idea if this is a normal experience or just the path we chose. In a world full of spoilers, it certainly keeps everyone on their toes.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Sep 3, 2020
It's a live action iteration of what video games have been doing for the past 20 years. It's definitely cool to experience, but it's not new. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 16, 2019
People with a short attention span or who hate Choose Your Own Adventure books, probably would not like Bandersnatch. That's not me.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Apr 8, 2019
... while the method has novelty and will receive the most chatter, the story at Bandersnatch's heart is one of Black Mirror's best.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Mar 4, 2019
'Black Mirror: Bandersnatch' is a film that is more interesting because of how it is structured than its story, which has little to make it stand out among the dozens of similar episodes that exist. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Feb 27, 2019
I was mad, shook, excited, disappointed, yet fulfilled at the same damn time while watching Bandersnatch.
Jan 30, 2019
The latest Black Mirror episode is a missed opportunity to improve female representation onscreen... to reverse the male-driven, trite narrative of active male and passive female characters.
Jan 23, 2019
The whole thing was tedious: confusing, repetitive, dilatory... It's the TV equivalent of being stuck in heavy traffic.
Jan 18, 2019
The film also offers a more complex version of the choose-your-own style than seen before on mainstream television and cinema, with multiple choices and at least some degree of real control over the narrative.
Jan 16, 2019
I admire the story tree that they've worked out... and I thought the actors sold it well.
Jan 16, 2019
If you just laid it out without the gimmick it would have been a mediocre episode of the show.
Jan 11, 2019
Blurring the distinction between creator and audience, "Bandersnatch" offers a fascinating space in which you can help create the pathways of multiple narrative worlds.
Jan 10, 2019
Netflix's 'Bandersnatch' Feels gimmicky rather than cinematic
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jan 10, 2019
Inventive interactive movie has violence, drugs, language.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jan 10, 2019
"Bandersnatch" is an ambitious undertaking for something viewers will chew threw in an evening. You may re-watch to explore the variations, but don't expect many more of these to be made.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jan 8, 2019
This design minimizes wastefulness, but it also allays our fear of missing out.
Jan 8, 2019
"Bandersnatch" falls short of the best "Black Mirror" episodes... But as an attempt to play around with your viewing experience, it's not a bad way to spend a couple of hours.
Jan 8, 2019
I found it quite possible to click through the pathways in "Bandersnatch" without finding a reason for any version of this story to exist.
Jan 8, 2019
"Bandersnatch" is fascinating, original, staggering in scope - and I still found the whole process stressful and unpleasant, and occasionally just straight-up upsetting. It's an achievement I admire, but not one I'm all that interested in.