BoJack Horseman: Season 1 Reviews

September 19, 2018
Once [the show found its stride]...it revealed a great sensitivity alongside its earthier elements, as well as a wonderful articulacy in unpacking our quotidian burdens and entertainment-industry conventions.
August 27, 2017
What holds BoJack Horseman together in the early goings is largely the work of its cast.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 16, 2015
The humor alternates between juvenile and biting and could gather a herd of fans.
September 12, 2014
It's one of the most aggressive portraits of depression I think I've ever seen. Look past the anthropomorphic animal characters and the satire of toxic celebrity culture: This show is radically sad. I love it.
September 2, 2014
It's Curb-lite, with an irascible ageing protagonist (think Larry David but with a fine mane of hair) tilting at the inanities of the modern world.
August 25, 2014
This hilarious and ribald show is not intended for kiddies, or for anyone who cherishes the somewhat cherubic image Will Arnett has recently built up on series like The Millers and Up All Night.
August 22, 2014
Thanks to the clever dialogue and skilled voice work, BoJack grows on us. Providing occasional laughs and even a little romance, the show... isn't quite binge-worthy, but it's a good snack.
August 22, 2014
There are already plenty of mediocre shows to go around. These days, most people don't have time to keep up with the really good television ones. So I'm not quite sure what Netflix is thinking with BoJack Horseman.
August 22, 2014
BoJack is perhaps a little more clever than it is uproariously funny, but it is often very clever, and, moreover, well-tuned to the ludicrousness of the sort of low-level fame that surrounds BoJack.
August 22, 2014
The show is relentlessly mediocre, and I was as eager to see the episodes end as I had been to watch the show in the first place.
August 21, 2014
Strange and somewhat delightful.
August 21, 2014
Nobody here needs a redemption story, but they could use an arc that makes their journey together feel less hollow.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 20, 2014
If you feel like you've seen this before, you have.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 20, 2014
Oddly enough, although the dialogue is rarely funny, the show is rife with background details suggesting how much potential is wasted here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2014
A series that not-so-boldly goes where seemingly everyone has gone before. It's such a stale premise that even when the series musters the occasional smirk, it feels deserving of a trip to the glue factory.