Bosch: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 12, 2018
Does Welliver look exactly like the Harry [Bosch] I picture? No. Does he make me believe he is Harry? Indeed he does.
December 12, 2018
Bosch seems to have a firm stance that you are either with or against. As in: this is who I am, this is what I do. So if you're with me -- let's get on with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 12, 2018
It has a perhaps problematic lack of urgency, but I enjoyed the atmosphere, with Bosch coming across as a throwback hero without being overly anachronistic.
December 12, 2018
The cavalcade of solid performances help buoy what is a fairly boilerplate group of interwoven police stories.
December 12, 2018
A throwback journey through LA cop culture. One that feels at times, in terms of tone, like a police detective show from the 80s.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
December 12, 2018
Welliver effectively shoulders that burden with a portrayal that's both gritty and playful, and he generally makes the dialogue work -- although some of the show's secondary characters are less than believable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 12, 2018
Setting aside unwanted distractions and conventional genre tropes, Amazon's new series is a thoroughly engaging vision that should prove quite pleasing to fans of Connelly's and cop stories alike.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 12, 2018
The plotting and pacing are what draw you in. The series works like a good page-turner.
December 12, 2018
A battery of episode directors including the stalwart Ernest Dickerson builds a panoramic Los Angeles around Bosch, and he cuts through the city like a knife.
July 16, 2018
A strange beauty, disconcerting, but painfully familiar. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 30, 2018
Exceedingly bingeable.
March 11, 2015
It's hardly the most original idea, but who says it needs to be? It's solid, compelling, and slick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 25, 2015
Welliver bites off a lot that he definitely can chew in Bosch. Finally he's the top-of-the-marquee star. It's hoped that Amazon Prime will keep it that way with at least several more seasons to come.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 23, 2015
Though it opens on a dark and stormy night Bosch is anything but clichd. This classic hardboiled police drama is an engrossing 10-part series.
February 17, 2015
They know good writing, with not a word wasted. They know cop lore and lingo and what turns viewers on about the genre. There's a solid cast. The rest . . . who knows? It just happens.
February 17, 2015
The best thing about Bosch is that it gives a starring role to Titus Welliver, a development that is long overdue.
February 17, 2015
I'm glad Bosch isn't another crime-time procedural, with their accelerated investigations, instant-gratification resolutions, shallow sensationalism and melodrama.
February 17, 2015
In theory, the slow-drip approach makes sense. In practice, the pacing keeps Bosch from being as grabby as it should be.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 16, 2015
Bosch is by no means a revolutionary show like Amazon's Transparent, but it offers smarter than usual cop drama fare, and it's certainly better than any cop show currently on a broadcast network.
February 13, 2015
The series relies almost entirely on the established popularity of its main character, who doesn't make as natural a transition to the screen as one might think.
Page 1 of 2