Breaking Bad: Season 5 Reviews

Page 2 of 5
October 17, 2019
A deeply satisfying and surprisingly emotional finale.
October 17, 2019
For strength and purity of vision, for its unique calibration of its core character, Gilligan's magnum opus is unsurpassed.
October 17, 2019
Fear not, they've pulled it off marvellously.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 17, 2019
It was far and away the most tense I've ever been while watching a TV show.
October 17, 2019
Now that Breaking Bad is coming to its harrowing, heart-stopping end, we can see it, steadily and whole, as a morally complex masterwork, maybe the best thing that's ever hit our TV screens.
October 17, 2019
Not only did Vince Gilligan's five-season, hyper-violent prose poem to midlife male frustration tie up virtually every loose end in sight, it contained the Holy Grail of all storytelling: an Actual Moment of Truth.
Top Critic
October 17, 2019
I didn't mind the lack of jaw-dropping surprises, because that slow unraveling made such perfect emotional sense.
October 17, 2019
It has been almost perfectly executed -- precise in plot and vivid in character, with taut dialogue, mordant wit, and photography that's eerie and ordinary and beautiful in places.
October 17, 2019
I line up diligently each Sunday, like a junkie twitching for her next fix, and I and my fellow addicts bask in 44 minutes of simply amazing television.
October 17, 2019
This is a brilliant, incisive portrait of a familiar kind of stunted masculinity, albeit one made gothic and grotesque and frequently blackly comic.
October 17, 2019
Fans were promised resolution for every character in the final eight episodes of Vince Gilligan's epic tale -- and that's exactly what they got. But along the way it proved to be a murderous, manic and mesmerizing ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 17, 2019
Breaking Bad is a series that eschews didacticism but remembers, as so many of the finest films of the 1970s did, that moral arguments are the most exciting ones audiences can have.
October 17, 2019
Breaking Bad has been utterly electrifying television, weird, funny, emotionally rich and endlessly surprising. but in the end, the finale of this great American series turned out to be one of its lesser episodes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 17, 2019
Its creator Vince Gilligan's extraordinary storytelling that brings us to a dramatic zenith that is now completely character driven.
October 17, 2019
Is the show a critique of the devastating potential of frontier masculinity or is it itself a masculine fantasy?... At this point, it seems that it wants to be both.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 17, 2019
It seemed like Vince Gilligan had set himself an impossible task delivering a satisfactory ending to this incredible series. But satisfy, it did.
October 17, 2019
By season five, despite Breaking Bad's addictive qualities, the comedy's thinning out, and the ending of one particular episode is so shocking and distressing that it was weeks before I could bring myself to watch the next one.
October 17, 2019
Breaking Bad's genius is in bringing us to the realisation that at its best, dramedy is a serious contemporary art form, and no laughing matter.
October 17, 2019
Dostoevsky in the desert -- an epic tragedy.
October 17, 2019
Breaking Bad is a parable about entrepreneurship, the very basis of American capitalism. Entrepreneur eventually becomes corporation, which is what the entrepreneur wants, and with that, loses all humanity.
Page 2 of 5