Castle Rock: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Castle Rock: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 2, 2018
I've enjoyed my share of King's work, and I'm gripped by Castle Rock. But I find his Evil... Easy. In its simplicity, it's comfort food
July 31, 2018
King's fiction has always used those elements as metaphors for the ordinary evil that men and women inflict on each other, out of fear or greed or prejudice. And that's what's really scary about Castle Rock.
July 31, 2018
The show starts getting good around episode three, once it cuts back on the direct King swipes and becomes more like a wholly original novel, exploring some of the author's usual thematic concerns and character types.
July 31, 2018
In spite of all of the tiny subplots unfolding at once, the pilot episode held my interest, and many scenes reeled me right in. An impressive start to a new series.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 30, 2018
Castle Rock offers more than nostalgic horror; it shows the horrific nature of nostalgia.
July 28, 2018
For better or worse all of the usual King tropes are here and the slickly produced Castle Rock pays homage to everything I love and don't like about King. It's creepy but languid storytelling that's more about the journey than destination.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 27, 2018
The lead performances are so consistently thoughtful - Holland's and Lynskey's especially - that when the supernatural inevitably intrudes, it makes Castle Rock feel less special.
July 27, 2018
There are definitely elements of hocus-pocus and holy cow in Castle Rock, as well as scenes of nicely disturbing violence. In other words, just what you both expect and want from a King-based product.
July 25, 2018
Tense Stephen King spinoff fun for fans, has some violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 25, 2018
The series is first-rate entertainment while never trying to reach for great seriousness.
July 25, 2018
The show makes skillful use of its episodic medium, carefully pacing its storylines and building out its world while still making sure each hour is filtered through generous helpings of creepiness.
July 25, 2018
Castle Rock is a fresh take on an ages old trepidation, sharing the perpetual state of low-grade fright experienced by a number of people.
July 25, 2018
Stephen King's new series "Castle Rock"... plays like a greatest hits mashup, where bits of his most popular old stories pop up, from Sharwshank Prison to reminders of films from "It" to "Carrie."
July 25, 2018
There is perhaps an advantage in starting fresh.
July 25, 2018
You keep waiting for something awful to happen, and that anticipation is what buoys you along.
July 24, 2018
The King allusions turn into treats for those who recognize them rather than distracting reminders of classics this newcomer can't hope to live up to.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 24, 2018
Castle Rock looks to be one of the best King things in years, even though the man himself serves primarily as a road map and blueprint.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 24, 2018
The kind of spine-tingling dread and irresistible suspense that will leave you fiending to see what happens next.
July 23, 2018
It's unclear from the first chapters where Castle Rock will rank in the King canon, but judging from the horrific visions generated by the prison's mystery man, we're in for a frightfully fun ride.
Top Critic
July 23, 2018
Starts slow and gets better -- while an excellent cast (and lead, in Holland) front a story that's a little more psychological than supernatural in the early going.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3