Catastrophe: Season 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 9, 2019
For a show that came on so strong, it's a curious but also brilliantly quiet way to go.
December 9, 2019
And yet their pain, manifested in family tragedy and fractious arguments about career and sex, brings us vicarious pleasure as Rob and Sharon wound, then cling to each other out of shared need and a desire to make the other happy.
December 9, 2019
And as much as these two may look like they're in trouble, the heart of this show has always been the tenderness that's clearly brimming under the surface of the acerbic wit of their unfiltered relationship.
July 23, 2019
Few other shows have honoured the fullness of romantic love in all its complications with the same level of radical honesty.
April 21, 2019
As its characters have grown so has the show, becoming more meditative and complex, though it never loses the raw honesty that made it so excellent in the first place.
April 12, 2019
See it and weep. Whether it's with laughter or with sadness will probably come down to which way you're tilting your head at the time.
Top Critic
March 21, 2019
Season 4 feels like the rom-com we need during the Trump years.
March 20, 2019
It's as gorgeous and transcendent a finale as the series deserves.
March 18, 2019
"Catastrophe" will be remembered for its courage - not only by saying what others were only thinking, but for defending those thoughts and actions as a representation of real love.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 18, 2019
While I enjoy Catastrophe, I'm not sure the show has ever done something that hit me as hard as its final scene.
March 18, 2019
The final season of Sharon Horgan and Rob Delaney's foul-mouthed romance is so lovely you don't want it to end. That's an increasingly rare feeling in television.
March 18, 2019
Catastrophe does, in its final moments, decide to say goodbye. And it does it in the way that it did everything: with a commitment to showing how ugly it can be to be honest, and how beautiful it is to have someone to be honest with.
March 15, 2019
Catastrophe's secret weapon was always its understanding of brevity, and in its final moments it leaves the audience wanting more.
March 15, 2019
An arresting final season closes one of TV's best series, though its breakneck narrative pace and curious final scene only leave us wanting more.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 15, 2019
The fourth and final season of Catastrophe may not be its best... but it's the most affecting, thanks to the cumulative weight the series has built up.
March 14, 2019
"Catastrophe," it is clear, refers not to a single occurrence but to a state of being - the chaos of life, which this comedy depicts with deadly honest charm.
March 13, 2019
By the series finale -- which is aptly strange, beautiful, and ambiguous -- it just feels unfair that we have to let go of something so special.
Full Review | Original Score: 90/100
March 12, 2019
Catastrophe will leave on as one of the greatest TV shows to ever exist, and one that never, ever jumped the shark.
March 11, 2019
It's not a spoiler to say the show ends quite appropriately, as it begins: with dangerous, devil-may-care action that may or may not result in a disaster better known as love.
March 7, 2019
I can already tell it's going to be harder to get over the loss of this relationship comedy than it has been to move on from most of my own (often catastrophic) romances.
Page 1 of 2