Cobra Kai: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cobra Kai: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 21, 2018
This could all fall apart pretty easily... but right now I like the harsh tone and unsparing assessment of misguided men stumbling into something bigger than either of them.
December 21, 2018
I struggled with the premise of middle-aged white dudes reigniting their rivalry, but while I doubt I'll binge the first season, my interest has definitely been piqued.
December 21, 2018
You might have a good idea of how all of these pieces are going to intersect, but the real fun is in watching these characters come together in interesting ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 21, 2018
If Cobra Kai shows us anything it's that just because some characters are dated, it doesn't mean that they don't still have valuable stories left to tell - and when they're this good, they should be told.
December 20, 2018
What the series does to strike balance is not provide a real "Good vs. Bad" plot, but a more complex, realistic look into familiar characters, and backstory behind some new faces.
December 14, 2018
It takes encounters with struggling teenagers to set them on better paths. If that sounds cheesy, it is - but Cobra Kai is aware of that, just as it's aware of pretty much everything it's doing. It's a funny, surprisingly thoughtful series.
July 13, 2018
As well as being an outrageously fun continuation of an adored movie, Cobra Kai packs a genuinely poignant punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 20, 2018
Either way, I can't think of a better image to close out this wild, delightful, completely out-of-the-blue series of television...
June 19, 2018
Although the show is quite predictable, that's also kind of the point, and kind of why it's so fun.
June 11, 2018
The mix between nostalgia and modern day is well balanced. Stays away from camp/cheesy territory for the majority of the time. William Zabka is great. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 18, 2018
I doubt that the premise yields for more than one good season, but for now we have 10 quick chapters, written with ingenuity. [Full review in Spanish]
May 12, 2018
While Cobra Kai could have gone the way of horrible 80s movie rehashing, it actually attempted to do something rarely seen: respect the original property.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 11, 2018
"Cobra Kai" is a lesson to others interested in mining the '80s for reboot ideas; if you're going to rely on nostalgia, at least do something interesting with it.
May 10, 2018
If you love the Karate Kid franchise, you'll find something familiar in YouTube Red's Cobra Kai.
May 10, 2018
There were levels of depth I didn't expect...it was surprisingly good, and a look at the Karate Kid trope through different perspectives.
May 9, 2018
Cobra Kai is so good it gives me hope that long-mooted follow-ups to other '80s classics like Ferris Bueller's Day Off, The Goonies or Midnight Run could actually be done well.
May 9, 2018
Somehow, Cobra Kai... keeps surpassing all reasonable expectations.
May 8, 2018
Reboot of the very-80s karate franchise is a total kick.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 8, 2018
To be quite frank, a show like this shouldn't even work... The series actually works pretty well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 4, 2018
What sells it, ultimately, are some winning performances by William Zabka and Ralph Macchio in roles that made them worldwide sensations.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 3