Cobra Kai: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cobra Kai: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 18, 2018
I doubt that the premise yields for more than one good season, but for now we have 10 quick chapters, written with ingenuity. [Full review in Spanish]
May 12, 2018
While Cobra Kai could have gone the way of horrible 80s movie rehashing, it actually attempted to do something rarely seen: respect the original property.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 11, 2018
"Cobra Kai" is a lesson to others interested in mining the '80s for reboot ideas; if you're going to rely on nostalgia, at least do something interesting with it.
May 10, 2018
If you love the Karate Kid franchise, you'll find something familiar in YouTube Red's Cobra Kai.
May 10, 2018
There were levels of depth I didn't expect...it was surprisingly good, and a look at the Karate Kid trope through different perspectives.
May 9, 2018
Cobra Kai is so good it gives me hope that long-mooted follow-ups to other '80s classics like Ferris Bueller's Day Off, The Goonies or Midnight Run could actually be done well.
May 9, 2018
Somehow, Cobra Kai... keeps surpassing all reasonable expectations.
May 8, 2018
Reboot of the very-80s karate franchise is a total kick.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 8, 2018
To be quite frank, a show like this shouldn't even work... The series actually works pretty well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 4, 2018
What sells it, ultimately, are some winning performances by William Zabka and Ralph Macchio in roles that made them worldwide sensations.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 3, 2018
It's a reboot that works, because it's a lot of fun and puts the familiar characters in a new light.
May 2, 2018
Cobra Kai is not something that is watched so much as it is experienced... I watched Cobra Kai and I had the time of my goddam life.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 2, 2018
Johnny's journey is one that I want to follow because even though the principles that Cobra Kai teaches are troublesome, with their "strike first, strike hard, no mercy" mantra... Johnny is trying to do the right thing. Even if he's a little misguided.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
May 2, 2018
It's not easy to get us to sympathize with a prototypical bad dude like Johnny Lawrence, but Cobra Kai pulls it off, thanks to [William] Zabka's prickly charm.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 2, 2018
It helps that Johnny is a genuinely complicated character, someone who has clearly experienced a lot of hardship, yet who still embraces distasteful remnants of his teenage years, starting with that "Strike First. Strike Hard. No Mercy" mantra.
May 2, 2018
There's no denying that Cobra Kai is a kick to watch, and that's really all that's required to declare it a winner.
May 2, 2018
Cobra Kai is an entertaining ride into a forgotten world of underdogs.
May 2, 2018
Even if Cobra Kai is a little too in love with its evocations of the movie, there is still something compelling about seeing Johnny and Daniel back together, particularly because both men haven't changed in key ways...
May 2, 2018
Wax on Cobra Kai. Wax on.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.9/10
May 2, 2018
There is room for something like a character study within the borders of the caricature offered by Cobra Kai. Its attention to Johnny's maladjustment is a hard kernel of realism pinging off its nostalgic bits.
Page 1 of 2