Cobra Kai: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cobra Kai: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 10, 2018
If you love the Karate Kid franchise, you'll find something familiar in YouTube Red's Cobra Kai.
December 20, 2018
What the series does to strike balance is not provide a real "Good vs. Bad" plot, but a more complex, realistic look into familiar characters, and backstory behind some new faces.
May 10, 2018
There were levels of depth I didn't expect...it was surprisingly good, and a look at the Karate Kid trope through different perspectives.
May 2, 2018
...Cobra Kai is one of the hands down best shows of 2018.
May 12, 2018
While Cobra Kai could have gone the way of horrible 80s movie rehashing, it actually attempted to do something rarely seen: respect the original property.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 21, 2018
If Cobra Kai shows us anything it's that just because some characters are dated, it doesn't mean that they don't still have valuable stories left to tell - and when they're this good, they should be told.
May 2, 2018
It's not easy to get us to sympathize with a prototypical bad dude like Johnny Lawrence, but Cobra Kai pulls it off, thanks to [William] Zabka's prickly charm.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 2, 2018
The result, then, is a reasonably charming, often corny and ultimately anachronistic show, presumably willed into unnecessary existence by the recent spate of 80s reboots, from Roseanne to Dynasty to Cagney & Lacey.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 11, 2018
The mix between nostalgia and modern day is well balanced. Stays away from camp/cheesy territory for the majority of the time. William Zabka is great. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 8, 2018
To be quite frank, a show like this shouldn't even work... The series actually works pretty well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 21, 2018
You might have a good idea of how all of these pieces are going to intersect, but the real fun is in watching these characters come together in interesting ways.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 2, 2018
Cobra Kai is not something that is watched so much as it is experienced... I watched Cobra Kai and I had the time of my goddam life.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 21, 2018
I struggled with the premise of middle-aged white dudes reigniting their rivalry, but while I doubt I'll binge the first season, my interest has definitely been piqued.
December 14, 2018
It takes encounters with struggling teenagers to set them on better paths. If that sounds cheesy, it is - but Cobra Kai is aware of that, just as it's aware of pretty much everything it's doing. It's a funny, surprisingly thoughtful series.
May 18, 2018
I doubt that the premise yields for more than one good season, but for now we have 10 quick chapters, written with ingenuity. [Full review in Spanish]
December 21, 2018
This could all fall apart pretty easily... but right now I like the harsh tone and unsparing assessment of misguided men stumbling into something bigger than either of them.
July 13, 2018
As well as being an outrageously fun continuation of an adored movie, Cobra Kai packs a genuinely poignant punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 20, 2018
Either way, I can't think of a better image to close out this wild, delightful, completely out-of-the-blue series of television...
June 19, 2018
Although the show is quite predictable, that's also kind of the point, and kind of why it's so fun.
May 2, 2018
Johnny's journey is one that I want to follow because even though the principles that Cobra Kai teaches are troublesome, with their "strike first, strike hard, no mercy" mantra... Johnny is trying to do the right thing. Even if he's a little misguided.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Page 1 of 3