Cobra Kai: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cobra Kai: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 10, 2018
If you love the Karate Kid franchise, you'll find something familiar in YouTube Red's Cobra Kai.
May 10, 2018
There were levels of depth I didn't expect...it was surprisingly good, and a look at the Karate Kid trope through different perspectives.
May 2, 2018
...Cobra Kai is one of the hands down best shows of 2018.
May 12, 2018
While Cobra Kai could have gone the way of horrible 80s movie rehashing, it actually attempted to do something rarely seen: respect the original property.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 2, 2018
It's not easy to get us to sympathize with a prototypical bad dude like Johnny Lawrence, but Cobra Kai pulls it off, thanks to [William] Zabka's prickly charm.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 2, 2018
The result, then, is a reasonably charming, often corny and ultimately anachronistic show, presumably willed into unnecessary existence by the recent spate of 80s reboots, from Roseanne to Dynasty to Cagney & Lacey.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 11, 2018
The mix between nostalgia and modern day is well balanced. Stays away from camp/cheesy territory for the majority of the time. William Zabka is great. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 8, 2018
To be quite frank, a show like this shouldn't even work... The series actually works pretty well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 2, 2018
Cobra Kai is not something that is watched so much as it is experienced... I watched Cobra Kai and I had the time of my goddam life.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 18, 2018
I doubt that the premise yields for more than one good season, but for now we have 10 quick chapters, written with ingenuity. [Full review in Spanish]
July 13, 2018
As well as being an outrageously fun continuation of an adored movie, Cobra Kai packs a genuinely poignant punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 20, 2018
Either way, I can't think of a better image to close out this wild, delightful, completely out-of-the-blue series of television...
June 19, 2018
Although the show is quite predictable, that's also kind of the point, and kind of why it's so fun.
May 2, 2018
Johnny's journey is one that I want to follow because even though the principles that Cobra Kai teaches are troublesome, with their "strike first, strike hard, no mercy" mantra... Johnny is trying to do the right thing. Even if he's a little misguided.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
May 2, 2018
Even though it's a half-hour series, the show manages to color in the lives of its characters with impressive detail.
April 24, 2018
The result is an entertaining dramedy that mixes nostalgia and teen angst with an interesting meditation on the ever-shifting definition of masculinity.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 9, 2018
Somehow, Cobra Kai... keeps surpassing all reasonable expectations.
May 8, 2018
Reboot of the very-80s karate franchise is a total kick.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 9, 2018
Cobra Kai is so good it gives me hope that long-mooted follow-ups to other '80s classics like Ferris Bueller's Day Off, The Goonies or Midnight Run could actually be done well.
May 3, 2018
It's a reboot that works, because it's a lot of fun and puts the familiar characters in a new light.
Page 1 of 2