Cobra Kai: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cobra Kai: Season 1 Reviews

May 2, 2018
Cobra Kai is not something that is watched so much as it is experienced... I watched Cobra Kai and I had the time of my goddam life.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 2, 2018
It helps that Johnny is a genuinely complicated character, someone who has clearly experienced a lot of hardship, yet who still embraces distasteful remnants of his teenage years, starting with that "Strike First. Strike Hard. No Mercy" mantra.
May 2, 2018
There's no denying that Cobra Kai is a kick to watch, and that's really all that's required to declare it a winner.
May 2, 2018
Cobra Kai is an entertaining ride into a forgotten world of underdogs.
May 2, 2018
Even if Cobra Kai is a little too in love with its evocations of the movie, there is still something compelling about seeing Johnny and Daniel back together, particularly because both men haven't changed in key ways...
May 2, 2018
There is room for something like a character study within the borders of the caricature offered by Cobra Kai. Its attention to Johnny's maladjustment is a hard kernel of realism pinging off its nostalgic bits.
May 2, 2018
The series should appeal to savvy teens who delight in mildly transgressive content and to those nursing their nostalgia like Daniel and Johnny do.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
May 2, 2018
But if we must reboot our beloved old favorites, it's much better to see it done like this, using the passage of time as an asset and a way into a different story about the same people, than as a cheap rehash...
May 1, 2018
This series has an underdog spirit of its own, even if it's not quite the triumphant crane kick it could be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 25, 2018
The thing you don't expect is for Cobra Kai to be pretty decent and to fill its entire first season with enough homages, twists and reversals to be much more consistently entertaining than it has any right to be.
April 24, 2018
The result is an entertaining dramedy that mixes nostalgia and teen angst with an interesting meditation on the ever-shifting definition of masculinity.
Full Review | Original Score: B+