Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: Season 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 10, 2019
There's nothing self-congratulatory about "I'm In Love," an extraordinary finale for an extraordinary series, the former written by and the latter created by Rachel Bloom and Aline Brosh McKenna.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 10, 2019
Just as they offered Rebecca an emotional release valve whenever things were growing unbearable for her, they did the same for us.
April 10, 2019
If Crazy Ex-Girlfriend's decision to tell a new kind of finale story at all surprised you, you clearly haven't been paying attention in class.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 8, 2019
Call me corny, but there's something jazz-hands lovely to what this deceptively small show accomplished, while expanding the boundaries of television.
April 5, 2019
It's been remarkable to see how the protagonist's personal development has forced the show to evolve as well.
October 29, 2018
If you were worried that Crazy Ex-Girlfriend's 18-episode season would drag out the plot or pad the extra time with filler, fear not...
May 21, 2019
A charming fourth season that manages to recapture many of the show's strengths, but also takes an unexpected casting turn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 10, 2019
So while Rebecca choosing herself sends a powerful message that I'm sure will have many fans cheering, I still wish I could have seen Rebecca be fulfilled in every aspect of her life. Because she has earned that, no compromise necessary.
April 10, 2019
What we do know, and Rebecca does too, is that she has the world at her fingertips. We just hope that she continues to tell her story with the world, even if we don't get to be a part of it week after week anymore.
April 10, 2019
She is surrounded by people who love her, doing the thing she loves to do. You couldn't ask for a better ending than that.
April 10, 2019
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend approached their series finale with just as much care and thoughtfulness as they have the whole season.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 5, 2019
A goofy, heartfelt musical comedy about mental health disorders may sound like a misbegotten idea, but the incredibly entertaining and unexpectedly gutsy Crazy Ex-Girlfriend premiere proved otherwise. So did the 60-plus episodes that followed.
February 15, 2019
In undermining the very premise of the rom-com, the show continues to deconstruct the genre and explore how complex we, as humans, all are.
December 13, 2018
In its final hour, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend completely threw out the classic love triangle structure. It rejected the idea that our identities can be symbolized through our romantic choices. And it was so satisfying.
November 14, 2018
"Crazy Ex-Girlfriend" is dialing back the insanity - a wee bit - with opening credits that set the tone.
November 14, 2018
In the fourth and final season of the series, which premiered last month, the delightful and quirky musical comedy goes even deeper in showing how Rebecca truly is a full person, and not just a series of zany cliches.
November 4, 2018
Gearing up for its final musical number, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend remains one of TV's best portrayals of mental health.
October 30, 2018
"Crazy Ex-Girlfriend" continues to be unlike any other show on television. ... It deals with important, topical issues with the heart, nuance, and lots of laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 22, 2018
There are no easy answers for this ensembles' ongoing quest for responsibility, love and peace, but at least they're going down separate roads together.
October 18, 2018
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend is a matryoshka doll of sharp storytelling; to watch it is to witness layer after complementary layer envelop one another, building to one of the warmest and funniest shows on network TV.
Top Critic
October 12, 2018
But then the meaning of that moment, of the chilling nature of Rachel's isolation, finally registers. It's so small, and perfect, and powerful, and quintessentially Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Ruefully funny. Heartbreakingly sad.
October 10, 2018
The series is mesmerizing in part because it continues to exist and try new things despite being out there all by its lonesome.
Page 1 of 2