Dead to Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 38
May 3, 2019
"Dead To Me" is a terrific character study of two women with an extremely complicated relationship, and also like that show, is one of the best and most unpredictable series on television this season.
May 3, 2019
Dead To Me has a lot of potential in the pairing of Cardellini and Applegate, but its overhanging twist might kill the story before it gains any narrative momentum.
May 3, 2019
What's admirable about the series -- it's far from flawless and some episodes, like many Netflix shows, are a bit redundant -- is how it touches on sorrow and gloom, as those feelings emerge in the gorgeous setting and comfortable lives of the characters.
May 3, 2019
Applegate and Cardellini are excellent.
May 3, 2019
Dead To Me is at its best when the smartest, saddest, and funniest people in the room are the characters, not the writers who create the world in which they live.
May 3, 2019
Jen and Judy don't complete each other, but they do complement one another-and they have a helluva time doing so, which is what makes Dead To Me more compelling than its adequately teased and deployed twists.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 3, 2019
It's a noir thriller with feelings, and not just desires, which is what makes it a little different, and most interesting.
May 2, 2019
It's a decent and sometimes perceptive examination of grief. And it's a very thin and rushed murder mystery that isn't exactly perfectly suited to 10 half-hour episodes... Check out the show for Cardellini and Applegate. They're worth it.
May 2, 2019
It's fun to watch Applegate and Cardellini so skillfully handle the show's erratic tonal range, as it constantly segues from deadly serious to appreciably absurd, with the more serious side usually prevailing.
May 2, 2019
Dead to Me mines profound loss for laughs, marrying humor and heartache often in a single moment.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 1, 2019
The series is at its strongest when using dissonance to reorient our understanding of loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 1, 2019
Creator Liz Feldman and her writing team mete out Dead to Me's multifarious twists with a satisfying steadiness.
May 1, 2019
Dead to Me's later episodes try to lean on character drama whenever possible, and Applegate and (especially) Cardellini get some strong moments as various truths come to light.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 1, 2019
Dead to Me is a standout series, plain and simple. It's the kind of show Netflix was made for. It's a show that walks a variety of lines while managing to be fulfilling at every turn.
April 30, 2019
The series does creatively spin its wheels over the course of these ten episodes... It's easier to forgive some of these faults because of Applegate and Cardellini's performances, which are enough to get you through to the end of the season.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 18, 2019
It's undeniably exciting to see Cardellini and Applegate, two rock-solid TV veterans who have rarely gotten roles worthy of their skills in recent years, play off each other and rip into material that asks so much of them.
April 17, 2019
Only the pacing and occasional glib comment give the sense that humor is present, for "Dead To Me" provides no indication it has a sense of humor at all.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 17, 2019
The dark humor successfully makes the series more fluid and fun. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 21, 2019
As simple as it sounds, "Dead to Me" knows exactly what it is and exactly who its characters aren't.
May 7, 2019
At the heart of the story, things don't really add up or carry the emotional weight they should, because Judy and Jen are ideas more than characters - avatars of anger, grief and guilt.
May 6, 2019
As Dead to Me is presented, however, one can take each frame like face cards in a deck that shuffles well but is missing something, that's playable as long as you overlook the fact that it's missing an ace or two.
May 3, 2019
It is very watchable, in spite of [the] unevenness.
May 3, 2019
One of the true joys of a world with so much television is that a series as bizarre and beautiful as "Dead" gets made at all.
May 3, 2019
The show is at its best when Jen and Judy are just hanging out.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 2 of 38