Dead to Me: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dead to Me: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 17, 2019
Only the pacing and occasional glib comment give the sense that humor is present, for "Dead To Me" provides no indication it has a sense of humor at all.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 3, 2019
Dead to Me is badly paced, tonally inconsistent and - above all - deadly dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 7, 2019
At the heart of the story, things don't really add up or carry the emotional weight they should, because Judy and Jen are ideas more than characters - avatars of anger, grief and guilt.
May 3, 2019
Christina Applegate gives the best performance of her career in a series that is not worthy of her.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 6, 2019
As Dead to Me is presented, however, one can take each frame like face cards in a deck that shuffles well but is missing something, that's playable as long as you overlook the fact that it's missing an ace or two.
May 11, 2019
Is Dead to Me the perfect crime drama? No. But is it really entertaining and the perfect binge show? YES!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 1, 2019
The series is at its strongest when using dissonance to reorient our understanding of loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 17, 2019
Its mystery could have been a little sharper and its story-line a little more taut, but thanks to the shining talent of its leading ladies, Dead to Me works quite well and is an entertaining new addition to its sub-genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 3, 2019
Despite many elements working against the series, both actresses elevate the material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 14, 2019
Dead to Me is both meditative and dramatically absorbing.
May 10, 2019
Filled with "Hey, girl!" moments used to add a bit of lighter humor and break up the nail-biting suspense, Dead to Me is paced just slowly enough for you to become invested in the wrong characters and then root for their demise.
May 3, 2019
These are appealing, mysterious and complicated women who win us through humour and keep us through the power of their created characters. And we gals can enjoy a front row view of what unfolds.
May 6, 2019
The way the twists play out is, at least so far, well-acted and just as tense as the writers intend it to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 21, 2019
As simple as it sounds, "Dead to Me" knows exactly what it is and exactly who its characters aren't.
May 3, 2019
Christina Applegate is absolutely hilarious...it is an Emmy-worthy performance.
May 6, 2019
Applegate and Cardellini embrace that morbid sense of humor and manage to make viewers laugh about death.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 30, 2019
The series does creatively spin its wheels over the course of these ten episodes... It's easier to forgive some of these faults because of Applegate and Cardellini's performances, which are enough to get you through to the end of the season.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 3, 2019
Jen and Judy don't complete each other, but they do complement one another-and they have a helluva time doing so, which is what makes Dead To Me more compelling than its adequately teased and deployed twists.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 3, 2019
It is very watchable, in spite of [the] unevenness.
May 3, 2019
Dead To Me is at its best when the smartest, saddest, and funniest people in the room are the characters, not the writers who create the world in which they live.
Page 1 of 2