Dead to Me: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 26, 2020
The second season of Dead to Me may not be perfect, but it's still very entertaining. This may not be particularly sharp or polished storytelling, but it does have its charm, especially because of its fantastic leading ladies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 21, 2020
Their manic lives and cascading calamities of their own creation provide a fantastic escape into a once-familiar world not long gone. Nobody wants their problems, but at least they're not boring.
May 20, 2020
It quickly establishes that the writers know exactly what they're doing.
May 20, 2020
While the show thrives on crime and chaos, there is enough conviction in the writing to make every absurdity seem believable. The makers also succeed in keeping its dark humour organic and free-flowing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 18, 2020
Applegate especially is doing the finest work of her career, giving nuance to Jen's fury and grief.
May 15, 2020
It's good, and I definitely look forward to the third season, but also, three seasons is probably enough.
May 13, 2020
It is still supported mainly by the work of its two protagonists, but it has polished its weakest point and is now a more compact series. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 11, 2020
Dead To Me maintains great chaos (even more, this time around, but it's a tolerable level) and is still a blast.
May 11, 2020
Dead to Me's sophomore outing is solid but not quite as flashy as its first. The central plot is not as engrossing or tightly plotted, but the lead performances make up for that.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 11, 2020
Some of the best moments are when "Dead to Me" walks the fine line between comedy and drama.
May 11, 2020
The main reason to enjoy the series is how it makes us question the complex nature of friendship and how atypical it is to construct one that is as honest as it is enduring. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 9, 2020
Christina Applegate and Linda Cardellini gulp wine with hypnotizing vigor in Dead to Me, a saucy soap on the extreme sport of trauma bonding.
May 9, 2020
In season two of the Netflix comedy, Applegate flurries through unbridled anger, biting sarcasm, aching heartbreak, painful desperation, and about 450 other emotions-flawlessly.
May 8, 2020
In its first installment, the Netflix series seemed almost too much like the HBO hit. But in its second season, it tells a compelling story and succeeds where its predecessor failed.
May 8, 2020
Dead to Me season 2 does better work with how it handles its supporting cast and fleshes out its world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 8, 2020
Applegate's rigid Jen has become more unhinged in Season Two. Watching her explore the wider emotional range of this darkly hilarious character is one of the best pieces of television chewing gum this year.
May 8, 2020
Jen and Judy are an adorable double-act sure to chase away any lockdown blues, and the programme is armed with enough twists and turns to send you reeling.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 8, 2020
Dead to Me doesn't spend its time looking back. Instead, it smartly navigates the past while pushing forward, never losing sight of the moments and character growth that led us here.
May 8, 2020
No detail is left behind, no subplot is forgotten, and no dangling question goes unreferenced. It made me like the whole series more, a feat few sophomore seasons have achieved with yours truly.
May 8, 2020
It's a show built to breeze through, just letting all of its many major twists and turns roll on by despite their (often intentional) absurdity.
Page 1 of 2