Deadwood: Season 2 Reviews

February 19, 2020
[A] superbly crafted, bucking bronco of a show.
February 19, 2020
[Al Swearengen] has perhaps one of the most unpredictable personalities and interesting minds ever depicted on the small screen.
June 12, 2018
At times beyond gritty in a "You've got to be kidding" sort of way, "Deadwood" will never be everyone's cup of tea, but it stands as one of HBO's most fully realized dramas since "The Sopranos" and exhibits no signs of fading in the second leg of its run.
June 8, 2018
Watching this show is such a disgusting, off-putting experience that you can be forgiven for wanting to take a shower after it 's over.
June 8, 2018
And yet it's all kind of pleasingly thematic, alternately gritty and funny and caked with moral decay.
June 8, 2018
As much as any other Western town in any other Western, Deadwood... seems really to exist, so vivid are the characters and so rich the texture.
June 8, 2018
Deadwood is indeed small and brackish, and it is in its own way as absorbing and addictive as "The Sopranos."
June 8, 2018
At times beyond gritty in a "You've got to be kidding" sort of way, "Deadwood" will never be everyone's cup of tea, but it stands as one of HBO's most fully realized dramas since "The Sopranos" and exhibits no signs of fading in the second leg of its run.
June 8, 2018
But this much is true: "Deadwood" is cocksure brilliant.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 8, 2018
Once a week, "Deadwood" is a phenomenal place to visit -- but I wouldn't want to live there.
June 7, 2018
The first two seasons are solid gold...
January 20, 2018
Deadwood suggests a... rewrite of the creation myths of the American Republic.
September 25, 2017
[Deadwood] is ornate and profane-far beyond, on both counts, anything that's ever been on television.
August 27, 2014
In short, Deadwood has become one hell of a great gimmick-free Western.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 27, 2014
This richly textured, extraordinarily acted show is a classic in the making, compelling even to those who might not necessarily be fans of the western genre.
August 27, 2014
We take from our art what we most long for, I think, and the final passages of Deadwood's second season present a place not where happiness is possible but where happiness is won after struggle.