Eastbound & Down: Season 4 Reviews

October 22, 2018
Eastbound & Down gave closure to four seasons of what could possibly be described as the biggest bait-and-switch on television -- a show that started as a sports farce and ended as a poignant reminder that you can't always judge a book by its cover.
June 4, 2018
The show's more interesting than it was last season, as well. The season premiere opened strong with one of Eastbound & Down's all-time best installments.
June 4, 2018
Eastbound and Down deserves praise because it never labored or hit an extended rough patch.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 4, 2018
The show's closer takes many bold steps, ones that keep the character true to his skewed ideals and graceless, tasteless take on life as he leaves our screens forever. I miss Kenny Powers already.
June 4, 2018
It's clear that there's still plenty left to explore with this show, and that the new side of Kenny Powers we get to see was worth bringing the show back for a second ending in and of itself.
June 4, 2018
It's been real. Katy Mixon, do my hair and/or be my wife.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 3, 2014
Put simply, Kenny Powers is great. He's one of the strongest comedic characters I've seen on television since Homer Simpson.
January 3, 2014
I regret thinking that it was pointless to bring the show back after the seeming finality of its third season, because the evolution of media star Kenny was the best thing the show had done.
January 3, 2014
Though I liked the way the third season of Eastbound and Down ended, I'm glad HBO gave the show another stab at its series finale.
January 3, 2014
Even when the show is funny and outrageous...there are things going on under the surface that are very real and very difficult, and that's what continues to make Eastbound and Down such an impressive surprise each week.
November 22, 2013
In its way, over the years, behind all the crude turns and vulgar behavior, had a sweetness to it, an earnest, simple-minded optimism that made it strangely akin to that other slightly twisted HBO comedy on modern struggle and advancement, "Enlightened."
October 24, 2013
Eastbound, rightly, treats the very idea of dude-ish self-pity with the outright mockery it deserves.
October 4, 2013
No recent television show has toggled so violently between brilliant and execrable as Eastbound, which at its heart is about pieties and their uselessness.
September 30, 2013
Get ready, because Eastbound & Down is back for one last run and it looks like a very different show.
September 30, 2013
McBride and Hill didn't bring Kenny back just to squeeze a few more cheap laughs out of him. There are cheap laughs, of course, but a downbeat mood of disillusion and frustration permeates.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 30, 2013
"Chapter 22" might strip too much self-respect away from Kenny, but it leads to a thrilling climax when his true nature returns, and sets up an exciting new season while also wrapping up the loose ends of season three.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
September 26, 2013
Strangely, the fourth season of Eastbound & Down exudes a somber tone that flies in the face of the show's typically rambunctious tendencies.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4