Emergence: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 5, 2019
The concept isn't overly complicated - no heavy mythology in the pilot - and the cast, including Clancy Brown and Donald Faison, has strong appeal.
December 2, 2019
All of the relationships implicitly work and the time spent exploring how the extended family fits together is helpful considering the series effectively adds an unexpected new member into the mix right off the bat.
November 19, 2019
"Emergence" feels, at times, like the latest in broadcast TV's long line of "Lost" remakes, but the writers make it more family drama than supernatural caper, which helps strike the right tone and balance.
November 7, 2019
After just one episode, "Emergence" is intriguing enough to leave us wanting more. The question now becomes, how long will we be willing to stick around?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 7, 2019
We'll see if the plotting takes us somewhere interesting, but for now, "Emergence" is holding my attention thanks in large part to the terrific Allison Tolman.
October 18, 2019
The show's premise is nothing wildly new, but Emergence hits the more predictable beats as well as you could possibly hope.
October 7, 2019
Supernatural mystery has strong cast, lots of violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2019
Overall, Emergence is a very ABC mystery show. In fact, it is so much on-brand for the network that one wonders how it was ever an NBC consideration in the first place.
October 5, 2019
'Emergence' is a thrill ride and a supernatural, sci-fi mystery that will keep you guessing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 26, 2019
Emergence asks viewers to invest in a family that doesn't come across as believable, care about a hackneyed Mystery Girl who seems somehow too shy and precocious at the same time, all while ignoring the half-baked mystery that ties it all together.
September 26, 2019
There's a lot of great tension, the writing is solid and believable, the characters have layers and edges. I can't wait to see what the mystery is behind this little girl...this show might be a winner.
September 26, 2019
I have no reason to doubt that Butters and Fazekas have something fun and unexpected up their sleeves for this show, and even if they didn't, I'd settle for watching Tolman read a phonebook for 22 episodes if I had to.
September 25, 2019
It blows things open to such a degree that it calls into question much of what we've already seen on the show, giving a new contextualization.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 25, 2019
Tolman brings to the role the warmth and shrewdness she did to a similar part in FX's Fargo; it's a pleasure simply to watch her think through the case.
September 25, 2019
Though the family drama isn't as compelling as it should be, the show plants enough seeds to make for an interesting premise, and Emergence is worth checking out to see how it all unfolds.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 25, 2019
Emergence's pilot is a pleasantly spooky hour, with some not-all-that-faint echoes of Netflix's Stranger Things. It's aided immeasurably by the casting of Tolman.
September 25, 2019
Emergence has some sketchy moments, but Allison Tolman's presence more than makes up for whatever dips there are in the writing.
September 25, 2019
If you're looking for a show to fill your sci-fi void, Emergence is that show.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.3/5.0
September 25, 2019
Though fans may struggle to pick Emergence out of a lineup among a handful of other genre thrillers, the pilot lays a solid foundation for an intriguing series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 24, 2019
ABC's Emergence looks like it could be a winning proposition. And even if the suspense and premise begin to sag, there's always Allison Tolman to keep hope alive.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 2