Emergence: Season 1 Reviews

November 19, 2019
"Emergence" feels, at times, like the latest in broadcast TV's long line of "Lost" remakes, but the writers make it more family drama than supernatural caper, which helps strike the right tone and balance.
September 25, 2019
Tolman brings to the role the warmth and shrewdness she did to a similar part in FX's Fargo; it's a pleasure simply to watch her think through the case.
September 24, 2019
ABC's Emergence looks like it could be a winning proposition. And even if the suspense and premise begin to sag, there's always Allison Tolman to keep hope alive.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 24, 2019
This isn't "Fargo," it's not "Lost," but better than ripping off either of those shows, "Emergence" might just be good.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 24, 2019
Tolman's performance is the best reason to keep watching - I hope her character can solve it soon. Network TV watchers are a lot more impatient than they used to be.
September 24, 2019
I don't exactly care what the "solution" or "twist" is in Emergence... Instead, I somewhat care about the main characters, which I don't think I've felt for an ABC sci-fi series since Lost. We'll see how long that lasts.
September 23, 2019
Obviously Emergence is another try at filling the supernatural mystery void left by Lost... And while it's impossible to tell whether this series will catch on in a way that others haven't, the cast is wonderful.
Top Critic
September 23, 2019
A shame this wasn't really set on the Island, but the decent "Stranger Things"-loving pilot offers a reasonable approximation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 23, 2019
If it's not quite fair to say that [Tolman] single-handedly transforms "Emergence" from a decent genre show into something richer, it's not far off, either.
September 23, 2019
Tolman, with her knack for conveying alert intelligence and sardonic skepticism, is the best hedge "Emergence" has against being a generic broadcast-network thriller.
September 23, 2019
Tolman finds emotional, subtle beats that lesser actresses would miss.