Emily in Paris: Season 1 Reviews

December 3, 2020
Emily in Paris does not speak the language of the place it has chosen to call home. It compensates for its ignorance by shouting, ever louder, in English.
November 10, 2020
If you can make it past the first episode, you're braver than me. Quel horreur!
October 30, 2020
I now know why I watched so much of this show and will go back for the last four episodes-it obliterated the current harsh reality of our existence so thoroughly that I got a good night's sleep.
October 30, 2020
This was painful . . . like I feel like I can tolerate a lot of bad TV, and bad TV can be really fun, but I really wasn't sure I would get to the end of this one.
October 30, 2020
Emily in Paris is the perfect escape from reality we so desperately need right now.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 19, 2020
It's like they kept googling every cliché for the first three episodes, then ran out so they just made up some.
October 19, 2020
If the basic premise of the show defies logic, the narcotic experience of each episode mutes it altogether, deactivating the thinking part of your brain until you're gazing at your screen like it's a dentist who gassed you 20 minutes ago.
October 19, 2020
For the first time since we started doing these chats, I am reconsidering the name "We love TV." Because despite watching every episode, I did not love this!
October 19, 2020
Compared with Sex and the City, Star's new show feels like a Snickers subbing in for a Ladurée macaron: still very bad for you, but in a less sophisticated way.
October 16, 2020
I choked down all 10 episodes in a single afternoon and I cringed through most of them.
October 16, 2020
This was honestly one of the most disappointing shows I've watched.
October 14, 2020
It's Star's kickabout fun with cliches that makes this show addictive, now that we've all been programmed never to make jokes about... well, practically anything.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 14, 2020
Ultimately, this is undemanding, binge-worthy viewing that easily washes over you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 13, 2020
The 10-part comic melodrama takes on every cliche about Paris -- snobby bosses, postcard views, moguls and mistresses, a hunky neighbor -- and enthusiastically stacks them high. Frivolity has a place, but this is shameless.
October 13, 2020
Despite the stereotypical script flaws, the delightful Lilly Collins is the reason to view and savor the series is a delectable confectionary treat, similar to indulging in those double-decker Ladurée macarons.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 12, 2020
There's no point in attempting to review the show on its own merits, because there really aren't any, except for its watchability, which is arguable at best.
October 12, 2020
Superficial and simplistic, yet slyly seductive, it's a guilty pleasure.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
October 10, 2020
It aims to show us a young American in a professional and romantic whirl. But the show is shallow, and she is a vain social-media addict. The anti-charm is strong.
October 9, 2020
Watching Emily in Paris I thought often of Henry James's great novella Daisy Miller. That is, it's fun and funny but also a close examination of complex social conventions.
October 9, 2020
Romcoms are, of course, fantasies, but their charm is that they're also about people. Unfortunately, Emily in Paris is just about brands.