Entourage: Season 5 Reviews

June 1, 2018
Knee-deep in season five, our pleasure centers only feebly buzzing and our guilt mounting, we no longer feel that we can in good faith continue to recap this show.
June 1, 2018
There already seems to be an effort to focus on characterization, rather than just typical Hollywood shenanigans.
June 1, 2018
The themes of redemption and vulnerability are such a welcome change from one of constant invincibility - or more aptly put, inVince-ibility.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 31, 2018
While the series remains an entertaining half-hour of television, it no longer has the swagger that made it so fun in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 31, 2018
By taking away Vince's career and making him work for it, the show has a central thrust again.
May 31, 2018
With so much happening, Season 5 turned out to be another solid series of episodes for one of HBO's best dramas.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Top Critic
May 31, 2018
Vince in adversity is, in fact, a more absorbing character than Vince as king of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 31, 2018
It feels like we're back where we started-and this roller-coaster ride is getting a little boring.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 9, 2018
Most of the season deals with Vinnie having a horrible time on a firefighter film.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 7, 2008
It's as amusing as ever.
September 7, 2008
Tracking the many ways in which reality converges with fiction is one of the principal pleasures of "Entourage," which otherwise explores some pretty well-worn territory in its new season.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 7, 2008
As a whole, the dramedy is much more enjoyable than it was last season.
September 7, 2008
Of course, what endears "Entourage" most to its insider constituencies on the coasts relies on its knowing references to Hollywood, and there's again plenty of that on display.
September 7, 2008
The first four episodes of the new season are more interesting -- and, on occasion, funnier -- than everything the show did last year combined.
September 7, 2008
It's less aimless and has renewed momentum -- even if its plots tread familiar ground.
September 7, 2008
The writers and performers seem to be amusing themselves first, figuring correctly that if they have a good enough time, so will some number of viewers. Four seasons later, it would be hard to argue with that premise.
September 7, 2008
"Entourage" is officially treading water, and the truth is it was never a great show to begin with