Euphoria: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 9, 2019
Quickly and quietly, Euphoria's technical know-how is the stuff of TV-making dreams, empowering its story in a beautiful symbiosis that's made it HBO's latest success story.
June 19, 2019
Trolling the Family Research Council with graphic scenes of underage sex, violence, and drug use is easy to do. What's harder is using the same kind of imagery and action to make a point, or a change.
June 17, 2019
Rue & Jules's relationship is the jewel of Euphoria. I'll keep watching because I desperately want to protect them. Otherwise, the show so far is a highly self-conscious study of ennui, overfull with fancy camera tricks and thousand-dollar getups...
June 17, 2019
That it's easy to buy into Euphoria's nihilistic vision of adolescence as distilled misery says more about us than it does about teenagers: Some people just love a good scare.
June 17, 2019
Despite the scenes of uncomfortable sex, [Sam] Levinson never fails to spotlight the fragility and confusion and, yes, sadness underneath that bravado.
June 17, 2019
In Euphoria's cynically nihilistic vision, today's teens have been warped by technology into soulless, self-medicating androids who use each other for cheap thrills! What will happen to them? OMG.
July 8, 2019
Euphoria relies too often on shock value as a substitute for substance.
July 2, 2019
[Euphoria] feels like a slightly voyeuristic exercise trying way too hard to be down with the kids.
July 2, 2019
Vivid and vicious but genuine, with standout performances all around, the series stands out from the pack of dark teen fare. With a dash of soapy twists and final-scene revelations, Euphoria will keep you coming back for another dose.
July 1, 2019
A narrative like Euphoria that puts it all out there with such rawness, vulnerability, and honesty on so many levels really would have made a difference to how I saw myself and my peers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 27, 2019
This show is more than a handful of Vicodin and you should definitely take only as prescribed.
June 27, 2019
Time, perspective and truth are played with here in a way only a show made today could ever do.
June 26, 2019
If the show accurately reflects anything about the modern teen experience in its more controversial moments, it's the way in which nothing is off the table, everything is up for discussion.
June 25, 2019
Beneath the show's explicit exterior is a tender core and Euphoria is at its most successful when it is exploring gentleness as opposed to brutality.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 25, 2019
It may be Zendaya's best work yet, and it's definitely one to watch.
June 24, 2019
I kind of hated Euphoria's pilot, but I kept watching further episodes because of Rue and Jules's dizzy-sick meeting at a house party -- I felt it in a way the rest of the show simply couldn't approach.
June 24, 2019
When it stops trying to shock adult viewers, it shows flashes of being a worthy addition to the HBO pantheon.
June 23, 2019
Euphoria succeeds because it doesn't mind getting uncomfortable to share a personal truth. There's a balance of raw and real that makes you want to see the series through.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
June 21, 2019
No matter what side of the Euphoria debate you're on, its style and ambition is undeniable.
June 20, 2019
Euphoria might be a very bleak exhibition of the troubles teens face today, but it's a strangely compelling one.
Page 1 of 4