Falling Water: Season 1 Reviews

January 25, 2019
The only thing that's crystal clear is that this won't be a short trip, so it's up to a viewer to decide if the show is languorously absorbing or just painful slow... My not goes to painfully slow.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 13, 2016
The sole appeal upon which Falling Water relies is mystery, and I'll admit that after watching I do want to learn the answers to the questions the plot has posed. But I don't wish for the answers so much that I'll sit through another hour.
October 13, 2016
The idea of dream-traveling isn't new - see 1984's Dreamscape - but this is a good-looking and intriguing reworking of the premise.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 12, 2016
After the four episodes made available for advance viewing, things were clarifying somewhat and an addictive quality was emerging, but not everyone may get that far.
October 12, 2016
Falling Water is a hollow puzzle box. It is a twisting, turning show that centers on dreams but completely loses the required balance of a series like this one: don't just present new questions, give us a few answers too.
October 12, 2016
Falling Water has too much ambition in its current iteration, which is more frustrating than admirable.
October 12, 2016
The performances are solid and the production values also make the grade under the direction of show-runners Gale Anne Hurd (who spent a season on The Walking Dead) and Blake Masters (Brotherhood).
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 10, 2016
Most bad shows are bad because their creators have no imagination and make obvious choices. Falling Water is bad because its creators have attempted something very complicated but failed to ground it in any credible way. They're in way over their heads.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 5, 2016
Perhaps, if one took copious notes, consulted the show website's "About" page... the convolutions in "Falling Water" would yield rewards. As it is, it's hard to imagine finding the time for this dull, plodding thought experiment.
September 22, 2016
Unfortunately, Falling Water makes the mistake of prioritizing intrigue over interest, failing to take any of its concept or conspiracy and connect it to meaningful characterization or narrative stakes.
Full Review | Original Score: C