Feud: Bette and Joan Episode 3 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Feud: Bette and Joan Episode 3 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Tom Fitzgerald and Lorenzo Marquez
Tom & Lorenzo
June 18, 2018

And now here we are at the third episode, in which the portrayals of each women deepen and become more nuanced, even as the show gleefully embraces high camp and humor.

Charlie Mason
TV Line
September 18, 2017

Sunday's FEUD: Bette and Joan made it clear once again that Davis and Crawford also could have been pals - and, in fact, could have really used one another's support, especially in dealing with their children.

Maggie Fremont
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
September 18, 2017

A round of applause for the best scene of the episode: Bette and Joan sitting down together for drinks. Whew, boy. I never wanted this to end.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Sheila O'Malley
New York Times
Top Critic
September 15, 2017

This sort of acting is almost a lost art, but it is the kind of work that Davis and Crawford did, too.

Molly Fitzpatrick
Refinery29
September 15, 2017

On this week's Feud, the battle isn't just between Bette and Joan. It's between mothers and daughters more generally-with a special emphasis on daughters who have become mothers, but are still very much in need of parenting themselves.

Nathaniel Rogers
The Film Experience
September 14, 2017

Bette putting out her ashes on Joan's Pepsi machine as the wrap on Whatever Happened to Baby Jane's wrap day is hilarious in concept but much more understated in execution.

Will Ashton
The Young Folks
September 14, 2017

It's understandable why it's often so lustfully over-the-top. Yet, humanity always rings true.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
September 14, 2017

The tone of their voices as they were arguing were perfection, and I loved hearing this as Joan was dragging herself off set: "And it was Gloria Swanson who was robbed in 1950, not YOU, b----!"

Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
Chris Scott
Observer
Top Critic
September 14, 2017

This was, absolutely, the best episode of Feud so far with some wrenching scenes and a quietly devastating final ten minutes or so. I think I'm a fan of Feud now.

Leah Greenblatt
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
September 12, 2017

It's also a wrap, after one cool staredown outside the dressing room.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Gwen Ihnat
AV Club
Top Critic
September 12, 2017

It's part of the reason we're addicted to watching these women in the first place: They really are larger than life. Who gets to scream at the top of their lungs at work like that? Who gets to say whatever they like? Who gets to tell off their boss?

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 1