Firefly: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 22, 2018
"Firefly," the new series from "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" creator Joss Whedon, is a mess - a wonderful, imaginative mess brimming with possibility.
January 31, 2018
... an hour of intergalactic cowboys from the middle of the journey, and it's incoherent.
January 29, 2018
You might think it would be impossible to find an intersection between the high-tech world of sci-fi and the low-tech world of Westerns, but [Joss] Whedon pulls it off.
August 10, 2017
I'm not sure it's the best first impression a show could make, but it's different and daring enough to warrant a return for a second, and a third.
October 28, 2014
Cheeky and charming, Joss Whedon's attempt to fuse oaters with Star Trek is just silly enough to work -- and there's absolutely nothing else like it on TV.
October 28, 2014
If you're a fan of Whedon's work on Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel, I don't think you'll be disappointed: Firefly offers the same well-balanced blend of humor, action, sharply drawn characters and unexpected twists on genre conventions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 23, 2018
Not only was the action great, but the humour was too, as was the emotional aspect and Firefly's stimulating intellect.
September 26, 2018
The revitalizing take Firefly gives us of our potential civilization five hundred years from now is a unique one, not marred by overly idealistic sympathies or absurd, estranged technology.
June 29, 2018
It was like nothing else on television at the time and like nothing that's been on since.
May 22, 2018
Firefly has all the elements to enjoy it... [Full review in Spanish]
May 22, 2018
Watch the series in order... and you see that it came out of the gate fully-formed.
May 22, 2018
By the time Mal utters the words "We're still flying" at the episode's end, we know exactly what this show was, is and could have been, and that's what a good first episode should be able to do.
October 18, 2017
[Firefly] possesses the potential to be as masterful a creation as Buffy, and is all the more precious for having been cut down in its prime.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 11, 2017
Firefly should be one of the names listed among the greatest science fiction series of all time.
August 10, 2017
I have to admit I kind of like Firefly. I'm not sure, though, whether that says more about my level of maturity than it does the series' potential appeal to older viewers.
March 30, 2017
Put back in its intended order, beginning with the original pilot, the series proves not just superb, but arguably Whedon's best series. It is certainly his only original show that was so clearly and fully established from the beginning.
October 28, 2014
Everything about Firefly defies convention with a recklessness that, well, Mal Reynolds himself might appreciate. And it's a recklessness that redefines what TV can do... or would have done,
October 28, 2014
Although exposition is standard for ongoing series, very little of it in Firefly is intrusive or awkwardly placed.
October 28, 2014
There's no disputing this is one oddball show. Shifting from space travel to horseback can be jarring. But once you get used to it, Firefly is very entertaining.
October 28, 2014
Firefly is one of the most sharply written, self-aware, character-driven shows I've ever had the pleasure to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 2