The Flash: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
February 12, 2020
The Flash is off to a solid start.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 16, 2019
The plot bumbles here and there, not with a whoosh, but more banal television thunk, thunk, oops.
August 5, 2019
At its best, the first season of The Flash is a rebuttal of toxic masculinity. On the flipside, women remain marginalized and disability is mishandled.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 11, 2018
A great cheesy watch for a cold winter's eve.
July 23, 2018
Given the polish of the cast and chemistry... The CW has taken the launch of another Justice League member into live-action drama quite seriously.
July 23, 2018
It does something that really no other superhero show or movie has done in a while, and that's make being superhero look really... enjoyable.
July 3, 2018
While The Flash might not hold up all that well, as is often the case with special effects-based series, it's still an admirable effort.
June 26, 2018
Like Arrow, this series nails the feel of a vintage comic book without being cheesy or cheap, and the more classic Flash supervillains it introduces (Captain Boomerang, Pied Piper, Reverse Flash), the speedier it climbs up viewer's must-see lists.
June 21, 2018
The Flash is the first show in a long time to put the fun back into a superhero story. Grant Gustin, while still a bit tentative in the role, has a fresh-faced quality that helps take the show somewhere different.
June 12, 2018
Growing up with him as my favorite Justice Leaguer combined with some good reviews? I was sold like a bag of discounted bath salts in Florida.
May 22, 2018
With big-screen superhero stories becoming so bruising, both mentally and physically, small-screen comic stories are now a light-hearted oasis for fans just looking to have a good time, with a little angst thrown in for good measure.
November 4, 2017
The Flash hit the ground running with a charming lead performance from Grant Gustin as speedster Barry Allen, a batch of clever ideas and an overarching plot that, while sometimes silly, managed to dig up real emotional stakes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 20, 2017
It's sort of genius: The Flash is an emphatic, richly colored middle finger to comic book gravitas.
September 23, 2015
Anyone turned off by DC's cinematic adventures could do with checking out The Flash - superheroes don't need to be dark and gritty to be appealing, and here's further proof to that effect.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 21, 2015
Utilizing multi-layered characters and plotlines, in addition to plenty of exciting action sequences, "The Flash" marks a high point for comic book adaptations.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 19, 2015
The Flash's success has been reassuring to the contingent of comic book fans who wish live-action superheroes were more... okay, let's just say it: fun.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 11, 2014
Though it's not my favorite genre, The Flash won me over, just as the same network's Arrow, from which this is a spinoff, did.
November 11, 2014
What. Is. Happening?!!! I'm suddenly believing that the guy I wanted to sucker-punch through my screen on Glee (Gustin) is a badass superhero, and it makes no sense but I'm definitely along for the ride.
November 10, 2014
There is light amid the darkness. The Flash sports a great cast, visually well-designed sets and effects, and the pace and atmosphere reflect the deft hands of directors and crew.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 3, 2014
Skews a bit young for my taste, but it's sure to be a quick hit with comics fans.
Page 1 of 4