The Flash: Season 5 Episode 8 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Flash: Season 5 Episode 8 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Jessie Robertson
Flickering Myth
April 24, 2019

This was a Nora episode; she got a huge spotlight to shine and she did not disappoint.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Matt Morrison
ScreenRant
December 7, 2018

While the craft employed by the special-effects team to do this was skillfully handled and well-directed by Tom Cavanagh, the whole episode still feels like something of a missed opportunity.

Ben Rolph
TheDCTVshow
December 6, 2018

Absolutely nostalgic, incredible and just so well put together.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Vlada Gelman
TV Line
December 6, 2018

Flash fans, we'll give you a moment to digest that timey-wimey craziness. OK, time's up.

Lacy Baugher
Tell-Tale TV
December 6, 2018

"What's Past is Prologue" celebrates the superhero series' landmark 100th episode with an installment that does its best to honor its past, while still moving this season's story forward. For the most part, it succeeds.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
December 6, 2018

What's Past Is Prologue did a terrific job of ending Cicada's threat...for now, while setting up a new mystery and the return of Thawne.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Trent Moore
Syfy Wire
December 5, 2018

The editing team did a fantastic job of blending old footage with new scenes, and for the most part, it really felt like Barry and Nora were peeking in on these key moments from Flash lore.

Chancellor Agard
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
December 5, 2018

"What's Past is Prologue" was fun, poignant, and surprising in equal measure, which is what you want from an episode of The Flash.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Laura Hurley
CinemaBlend
December 5, 2018

I have not been Sherloque's biggest fan due to my lingering love of the Harry version of Harrison Wells, but he's really shown off his investigative skills in sussing out something going on with Nora.

Noetta Harjo
Geek Girl Authority
December 5, 2018

It was great to time travel through some of the greatest moments in Flash history. I would have liked to have seen more of the old characters, but this is okay.

Amelia Emberwing
Birth.Movies.Death.
December 5, 2018

Some of the best episodes of The Flash are the ones that make you sit back in your chair and smile over how charming it was. "What's Past is Prologue" is just that, but it's got some tricks up its sleeve, too.

Scott Von Doviak
AV Club
Top Critic
December 5, 2018

I'll be the first to say that not all 100 episodes are great or even good...but "What's Past Is Prologue" does a great job of summing up the epic mythology of these four and a half seasons.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Mike Cecchini
Den of Geek
December 5, 2018

For all of its crazy conceptualising, What's Past Is Prologue is about as low key a one hundredth episode as you're ever going to see from a superhero show. And you know what? I don't think I would want it any other way.

Jesse Schedeen
IGN Movies
December 5, 2018

The Flash's 100th episode sets the stage for a compelling new conflict but often squanders its own premise.

Full Review | Original Score: 6.7/10
Kat Pettibone
TV Fanatic
December 5, 2018

The Flash Season 5 Episode 8 paid tribute to all the seasons of Flash Past, and while the performances were extraordinary and certain sentiments were genuinely touching, the story itself? Well, it seemed to fall a little short.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 1