Fleabag: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 73
May 24, 2019
In an entertainment landscape that rarely grants women characters the range to be challenging, Fleabag's commitment to exploring the sisters' anxieties about (and slow progress toward) one another is a breath of fresh air.
May 24, 2019
Packaging them, turning them into a story, is also a way to control her feelings. Fleabag gives us Fleabag as a gift, so she doesn't have to deal with it herself.
May 22, 2019
What Waller-Bridge does with a familiar British comedy trope is explosive.
May 21, 2019
As in Killing Eve, Waller-Bridge always makes sure even her worst characters have moments of vulnerability and humanity, that they have the possibilities that life's pencils and its erasers provide in equal measures.
May 20, 2019
Her writing remains as confident and her humor as cutting as ever - these episodes give us some of the funniest TV moments going right now, and may be the year's best.
May 17, 2019
For a character utterly obsessed with the violence that crawls under the surface of politesse, it's a rare moment of harmony between her inner and outer selves.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 14, 2019
An impossible love story, but full - really full - of hilarious and warm moments. [Full review in Spanish]
June 11, 2019
Creator and star Phoebe Waller-Bridge is a genius who has added sharp wit and dark humour in a style we've never seen before
June 5, 2019
The tension between actor and audience reaches a limit point in the final chapter. The show must end. The break closes the series in a moving way. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 29, 2019
Fleabag is an urgently hilarious series drawing pathos from the minute details of sisterly dynamics, fiercely feminist driven dialogue that's painful and self-reflectively honest, and sight gags such a cafe filled to the brim with guinea pig decor.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
May 29, 2019
It's another to see it demonstrated artfully, holistically, and undeniably on-screen. By the end of the series, Waller-Bridge may as well be reaching through the camera to shake those of us who trust pain more than love back to life.
May 28, 2019
If the first season was about honestly coming to terms with the damage sex can do, season two is about accepting what comes after confession, about the hard work of loving, even knowing the damage that love has brought and will bring again.
May 28, 2019
Waller-Bridge delivers an outstanding performance, managing to raise the stakes in Season 2.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 24, 2019
After more than two years, Waller-Bridge delivers Fleabag's second coming and she allows her character to grow in such unexpected ways that I am tempted to say it's even better than the first season.
May 24, 2019
I haven't seen anything as rivetingly good on a small screen in as long as I can remember.
May 22, 2019
Watching her slowly let down that guard and welcome people in finds Fleabag at its most heartwarming and inspiring-two adjectives I never thought I would use to describe this show.
May 22, 2019
Phoebe Waller-Bridge reclaims the idea of female coping in Fleabag. It remains a mordant exploration of what comes into play when women aren't made to obsess over terminating the umbilical cord of pain.
May 22, 2019
It's one of the best seasons of TV I've seen in ages.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 22, 2019
The writing here is bitter, sweet, truthful and empathetic. The performances are brilliantly judged from top-notch actors who know exactly when to play it straight and when to go for the funny.
May 22, 2019
The second season of Fleabag perfectly builds on the rich, heartbreaking character study that Waller-Bridge created.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 16, 2019
Fleabag Season 2, which I cannot recommend highly enough, is thrillingly deep, funny, and buoyant.
May 16, 2019
The first season was always meant to stand alone. That the second... is so successfully additive and so satisfyingly final in its conclusion, feels like a minor miracle.
May 16, 2019
A portrait of grief, fear, and love that's startling, painful, achingly funny, unbearably sexy, pretty much perfect, and somehow better than the first season. It is a marvel. It should not exist.
May 16, 2019
I's a spellbinding performance. But Waller-Bridge also writes generously for her gifted cast. Even Claire's skeevy, selfish husband, Martin (Brett Gelman, who has a Ph.D. in skeeve) has a moment of late clarity.
Page 1 of 73