Freaks and Geeks: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 23, 2018
During its short but perfectly formed run, it forced its audience to laugh through the awkwardness of adolescence.
August 7, 2018
Freaks reminds us that we're often closest to our true selves when we're alone and not performing for our peers, particularly during our painfully self-conscious teen years.
June 29, 2018
It's worth watching just to see baby versions of people like James Franco, Jason Siegel, Seth Rogan, Busy Phillips, and others, but it's also a genuine take on high school and the constant need to feel like you belong.
May 22, 2018
''Freaks and Geeks'' can't escape its sense of borrowed wonder. But at least it has some.
January 24, 2018
At the very least ... this is a rare hour of TV with big possibilities.
October 10, 2017
It's hard to sum up an entire season of incredible television in just a few words, but Freaks and Geeks turns out to be every bit as groundbreaking and wonderful as we all heard.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 10, 2017
It just lets viewers watch, and through careful screenwriting, makes them understand. It's not about what choices the characters make, it's about why they make them and what they hope to get out of them.
October 10, 2017
This is the perfect introduction into the world. Not only have we immediately become immersed from the jump thanks to Joan Jett's Bad Reputation as well as a slew of other songs used in this episode, but the costuming drives the point home.
October 10, 2017
Above all, it is a show made with purest love and affection for the ones who couldn't get the hang of high school.
October 10, 2017
Freaks and Geeks finds abundant humor in the absurdity of the situations the characters face.
October 10, 2017
Forget 90210 and Dawson's Creek. This series shows real-looking kids dealing with real-life issues.
October 10, 2017
In addition to fresh, sharp writing, the casting in Freaks and Geeks is exceptional. This is one of the few high-school shows in which the actors actually look like they could be in high school.
October 10, 2017
Freaks is a frisky little triumph of real spirit.
October 10, 2017
Freaks and Geeks is tapping into something primal: adolescents' hunger to begin to understand themselves and their world. Freaks and Geeks is too honest to offer answers. But it affirms the value and the universality of asking the questions.
October 10, 2017
The young actors are natural and convincing, and the high school characters manage to be funny without too much Dawson's Creek glibness.
October 10, 2017
Paul Feig have fashioned a dramatic comedy that perhaps gets it a tad too right. Freaks and Geeks carries a sheen of bleakness, of sadness and depression that strives to equate the lives of middle teens with those of infantrymen on the front lines.
October 10, 2017
Freaks and Geeks is that wonderful rarity among television series, a show that simultaneously lampoons reality and embraces it.
October 10, 2017
This show only produced 18 episodes, but it's been lauded and beloved for 16 years since its unceremonious axing.
October 10, 2017
The show deals with situations that we can all relate to. It is a very rare thing to see a television show with such love for its characters and its world - a true gem.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
October 10, 2017
Mass audiences are only interested in reliving high school if it's sentimentalized. The chance to revisit something remotely in the ballpark of the real thing is as appetizing as cafeteria food-and Freaks and Geeks was a weekly feast of teen awkwardness.
Page 1 of 2