Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 10, 2019

[It] continues the show's remarkable ability to continue the narrative of the novel, while still narrowing its focus enough to create a common thematic thread.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 13, 2019

The episode does a nice job both setting up the swords-drawn cliffhanger, as Catelyn takes Tyrion into custody, and complicating our picture of him.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 13, 2019

Thus far, no episode hasn't been dramatically improved by the appearance of a direwolf. They are awesome - and still growing, apparently.

Devin Faraci
Birth.Movies.Death.
March 13, 2019

Production value is going to continue to be a struggle for the series, especially as we get to armies clashing, but as long as the character work remains as strong as this episode, I won't complain too much.

Laremy Legel
ComingSoon.net
March 13, 2019

The MVP of Game of Thrones,... we again see the complexity of Tyrion.

Ed Cumming
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 13, 2019

The highlight of the episode was the jousting tournament, which was everything good about the series so far. Loud, dirty, expensive and excessively gory.

Ti Singh
Den of Geek
March 13, 2019

It's all heating up. The only question is who will be left standing.

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
March 23, 2016

It seems like we still have a lot of ground to cover. But Game of Thrones is the best HBO series in a long while and it's easily one of the most epic shows currently on TV.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
March 22, 2016

I felt this was the most solid episode to date, as we have come to know most of the major players. The less introductions, the better.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
Adam Pasick
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

Best development of a great episode: I am starting to think that the blank-faced portrayal of Daenerys in the early episodes was more a dramatic ploy than bad acting.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

Game of Thrones is so far 4-for-4 with terrific closing scenes... and the stuff leading up to those closings have been pretty strong, too.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

Another strong episode. This show is proving increasingly adept at marrying subtle character development with addictive wham-bam plotting which makes it near impossible to resist getting carried along for the ride.

Todd VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

"Cripples" was my favorite episode of the show so far, an hour that simultaneously feels more propulsive and more relaxed than the last three, as though the show is starting to unfurl its grand master plot, while also settling into the world it's created.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Douglas Wolk
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

The most entertaining characters are the ones whose motives genuinely are opaque.

Tim Surette
TV.com
March 21, 2016

There may not have been many gasp-worthy scenes in last week's episode of Game of Thrones, but "Cripples, Bastards, and Broken Things", the show's fourth episode (and possibly the best one so far) sure gave us a few good ones, didn't it?

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Things are about to get complicated. Wait, you thought it was complicated already? Oh, hahahahahaha.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Welcome back. Thrones is once again stuffed with character moments, but also spices things up with snarling wolves, bathtub nookie, fighting and jousting, all winding up to next week when ... well, let's not get ahead of ourselves.

Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
March 21, 2016

Credit George R.R. Martin, along with screenwriters and casting directors for giving us women with the strength to challenge the misogyny of their fictional time and place.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.4/10
Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 21, 2016

There was a ton of history shoved into this chapter and some of the scenes actually stood out a little bit as being a bit heavy with details.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Page 1 of 1