Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 8 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 8 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 10, 2019

The Pointy End, is perhaps the pivotal sixty minutes in this first breathtaking season.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 14, 2019

The Wall storyline was again a bit detached from the themes and action of the rest of the episode, but I like how the series has kept it in motion.

Rob Power
SFX Magazine
March 14, 2019

It's a beautifully written episode: tense, dramatic, heart-rending, hilarious and horrifying all at the same time, and testament to a master's hand on the tiller behind the scenes.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Tom Chivers
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 14, 2019

Tyrion (Peter Dinklage) continues to both get and deliver the funniest lines.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 14, 2019

[There's] some crackling dialogue, a few good character moments and some of the best action the show has featured to date.

Ti Singh
Den of Geek
March 14, 2019

No one can deny that Game Of Thrones is a cinematic series, but luckily, it's avoided straying into cinematic cliches.

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
March 23, 2016

Last week's episode was one of the best to date, but this one may have topped it.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Gwen Orel
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

You can't play sudoku and watch this show. You can't look away. You can't mute it for a second. Just when you think you can breathe, you can't.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
March 22, 2016

Every week I fall more in love with the love of Drogo and Dany. Bringing the relationship to life on the screen has given it a completely different perspective than I got from reading the book.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Adam Pasick
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

If any heroes emerged this week, I'd have to put Robb at the top of the list, albeit with a big asterisk.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

There's a lot of [moving pieces around the chess board], yes, but also some crackling dialogue, a few good character moments and some of the best action the show has featured to date.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

The scene between Arya and Syrio Forel is one of the most iconic in the books and lived up to that billing on screen.

Emily VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

"The Pointy End," the show's best episode since its fifth and probably its best so far, was the first episode of the show that created that never once made me think, "Eh, I preferred that in the book."

Full Review | Original Score: A
David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Game of Thrones' eighth episode (penned by George R.R. Martin) feels like the most zoomed-out the sprawling show's been so far, in a good way.

Full Review | Original Score: A
Tim Surette
TV.com
March 21, 2016

All told, "The Pointy End" was a set-up episode for the final two hours of Season 1. But the manner in which intensity never faded and new faces were thrown into the mix made it another riveting installment of Game of Thrones.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

So, Robb's rebellion's already going well.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Imagine if you're at lunch chatting with co-workers and all of a sudden a bunch of sword-wielding psychotics rush into the break room and start killing everybody. That's the feeling we get in these chaotic opening scenes.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 21, 2016

We're all well aware that every episode of this HBO adaptation is fairly excellent, so there has to be a teensy bit of wiggle room here. And so as great as "The Pointy End" was, there have been better episodes. Not by much, mind you.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Ben Moore
ScreenRant
March 21, 2016

Though it was very good, the episode was definitely a transitional one.

Page 1 of 1