Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 9 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 1 Episode 9 Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Rob Power
SFX Magazine
April 10, 2019

Yes, there were some touching moments... but it would have been much more satisfying to have seen Jaime Lannister taught a lesson by the Stark banner men.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 10, 2019

It was brilliant.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 14, 2019

The tension [is] building and building as we witness one major event after another.

Ti Singh
Den of Geek
March 14, 2019

His [Sean Bean (Ned Stark)] presence was reassuring and comforting.

Ed Cumming
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 14, 2019

Game of Thrones has proved it doesn't care much for our expectations, and only made them higher.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 14, 2019

If this episode were truly successful, the finale minutes had to have impact even if you knew what was coming. And gods, did they.

Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
March 23, 2016

I actually held my breath while watching that [death] scene.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Gwen Orel
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

This episode was made of sadness and shock. And watchers and even readers are feeling teary.

Carissa Pavlica
TV Fanatic
March 22, 2016

The lives of man hung in the balance throughout "Baelor," while others fell further from grace.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
Margaret Lyons
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

There was a ton to love about "Baelor," particularly from Tyrion and Bronn, whom the show (books?) has come to rely on for any sense of levity.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

"Baelor," written by Benioff and Weiss and masterfully directed by HBO veteran Alan Taylor, treated the death - and the build-up to it - with the appropriate level of gravity.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

The acting tonight was outstanding particularly the short, harrowing scene between Arya and Yoren which showed us the true human cost behind the political game.

Todd VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

While having paid attention to the series up until this point is enormously helpful in understanding everything that goes on, many of the conflicts are self-contained to the episode, and there are plenty of setups that get payoffs within the hour itself.

Full Review | Original Score: A
David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

It's impossible to criticize this show for lack of narrative thrust considering those last few minutes.

Full Review | Original Score: A
Tim Surette
TV.com
March 21, 2016

It played out exactly how I imagined it in my head-exactly-yet still felt new and left me shaking my head in disbelief.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Wish I could say I saw that coming, but I didn't.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Wha- what? Did they just- Really?! Oh my- you gotta be fu- WHAT?! Yes. They did. They really did it. And it was tragic and horrific and possibly unprecedented for a first-year TV show.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 21, 2016

"Baelor" might have strayed a teeny bit from the novel, but it was a clean and epic entry with a daring, tragic finish.

Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Ben Moore
ScreenRant
March 21, 2016

"Baelor" was an episode all about sadness, loss, and death.

Page 1 of 1