Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 1 Reviews

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 19, 2019

This season seems more willing to take liberties with the order of events in the narrative than season 1.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

Everything feels thrillingly unsettled, as if the rules are constantly changing and the biggest prize may actually be a booby trap.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

So there you have it -- sex, blood, infanticide, incest, rebellion, poison and great big wolves. Man, I missed this show, didn't you?

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

Whew! That episode was packed. And yet, since there are so many storylines, it felt like things barely got started and then the hour was already over.

Todd VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

This little trick of jiggering storylines so we're getting to the most exciting stuff straight off makes the whole series move with a muscularity and confidence it sometimes lacked at the start of season one.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 17, 2016

It's remarkable how much gets packed in, and how much the show can get across in the brief time it spends with its many, many characters.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Charlie Jane Anders
io9.com
April 11, 2019

"The North Remembers" sets the tone for season two of Game of Thrones - less sex, more violence. And a million dizzying subplots

Devin Faraci
Birth.Movies.Death.
April 11, 2019

I guess this is me being a spoiled brat more than anything else, but I was certainly ready for more when the final credits came up.

TK Burton
Pajiba
April 11, 2019

It was once again a beautifully acted and directed episode, providing all of the darkness and delightful intrigue that we've come to love about the show.

Rob Power
SFX Magazine
April 11, 2019

Everything about this episode feels bigger, better and more sure-footed than last season.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Laremy Legel
ComingSoon.net
March 18, 2019

All in all, a very solid start for season two. Naturally, it couldn't be full-on amazing, as everything just became very cloudy,... but the foundation is laid for another outstanding season.

Donna Dickens
The Mary Sue
March 18, 2019

Joffreyʼs actor is amazing. This kid has got subtle malice with a sprinkling of smarm and the twinkle of becoming unhinged in his teenage eye.

Joel Hanek
MTV
March 18, 2019

All in all this was a pretty awesome way to start the season and shed any doubts about the series being great without Ned Stark.

James Hoare
SciFiNow
March 18, 2019

Where 'The North Remembers' is less than excellent is in the inevitable grot-work of bringing people up to speed.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 18, 2019

Season two... dives right into things.

Tom Chivers
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 18, 2019

The biggest name may be gone, but the GoT formula of political intrigue, beautiful people and scenery, enthusiastic sex and unflinching brutality is still very much in place.

Simon Brew
Den of Geek
March 18, 2019

The North Remembers has been very clearly worth the . At times shocking, always involving, and occasionally rude.

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 24, 2016

The episode excelled in underscoring Joffrey's cruelty (he does make a truly vile villain, doesn't he?) and Tyrion's humor and growth as a character.

Tobias J. McGuffin
TV Equals
March 23, 2016

I love the red comet scene transitions, which is also very much in keeping with the books. (I'm like, "Well it's what I would do. Clearly the show-runners are almost as smart as I am.")

Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
March 22, 2016

It's not the battles or the trysts that make the show compelling-it's the maneuvering in courts and councils, the power game turning vices, secrets, lies and betrayal into trump cards.

Full Review | Original Score: 7.8/10