Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 8 Reviews

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
March 26, 2019

[A] taut, terrific episode The Prince of Winterfell,... nearly every player ended up in a trap, forced to play it as it lies.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 26, 2019

It felt very much like an ultra-penultimate episode of a season, setting up story lines for the final two.

Rowan Kaiser
indieWire
Top Critic
March 26, 2019

Despite a disappointing lack of events and warping of Arya's story, there was still a lot to like about The Prince Of Winterfell.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

I found "The Prince of Winterfell" to be quite a relief... It was a relatively quiet hour, at least by Game of Thrones standards... But unlike last week's equally placid installment, this one was gilded with numerous character moments.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

I think they're clearly paving the way for a lot off poo to be thrown about -- and if we're lucky, some of it will hit Joffrey.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

This week's episode of Game of Thrones was a builder.

TK Burton
Pajiba
April 12, 2019

For me, the finest moment of the episode came early, and it belonged to Gemma Whelan's Yara Greyjoy.

Tom Chivers
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 25, 2019

This is a good Tyrion episode, with Dinklage making the most of his juicy lines.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 25, 2019

It felt very much like an ultra-penultimate episode of a season, setting up story lines for the final two.

Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
March 25, 2019

Tyrion, as a character, makes sparks with whomever is crossed with him, from Cersei and Joffrey to Bronn and (perhaps most fun of all) Varys.

Sarah Devlin
The Mary Sue
March 22, 2019

This week was much better.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 22, 2019

The game is being played so slowly and carefully this year, and also that it involves so many players.

Daniel Harper
We Got This Covered
March 21, 2019

I thought this week's episode was great. I'm one of those people who enjoys the build up almost as much, if not more, than the big fight.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 11, 2018

Game of Thrones can often make it seem like more is happening than it really is, so while "The Prince of Winterfell" isn't the most eventful episode, its still got loads of good character beats, and plenty to get us excited for the rest of the season.

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 24, 2016

The news that the Stark children are alive was the biggest piece of plot development that happened... Other than that... it served better as a set-up to the show's climax in the next weeks, rather than a stand-alone episode.

Tobias J. McGuffin
TV Equals
March 23, 2016

This episode had peaks and valleys to be sure, but for the most part it was slow, delicious, and calm-at least on the surface.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
March 22, 2016

An occasionally slow-moving but fascinating episode, which felt like the calm before Stannis arrives to storm King's Landing.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 22, 2016

It's entirely possible that the events coming up in the next two weeks... will make much of this piece-moving seem worth it, in the same way that certain "slow" episodes of "The Wire" would always prove to be essential in hindsight.

David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

Since we're in the closing act of the season and shit is likely about to get real, an episode that's about getting characters in position is forgivable.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Todd VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

It's a strong episode for Tyrion overall, as our acting Hand attempts to get the city ready for siege warfare by talking things out with Bronn-who's little help-attempting to persuade Cersei that her son needs to lead his men into battle.

Full Review | Original Score: B+