Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 10 Reviews

Rowan Kaiser
indieWire
Top Critic
March 27, 2019

It's just a bunch of stuff that happens, in the words of Homer Simpson. Still, it's a compelling bunch of stuff that happens.

James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 26, 2019

Valar Morghulis had to give us a little of everyone to tide us over until next year, but it also accepted that not everyone was going to get epic closure of a season-long arc.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

"Valar Morghulis" felt as much like a premiere as a finale... Rich, sweeping, and surprisingly emotional, it managed to be the best episode of the show to date.

Jenifer D. Braun
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

The Game of Thrones season two finale begins the way 'Lost' began -- and ended, for that matter -- with an eyeball, real close up, looking around.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 23, 2016

Tonight's finale is full of surprises - even to devout readers of George R.R. Martin's novels.

David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 21, 2016

God, I'm going to miss this show until next year. It's the biggest clich in the world, but there honestly isn't anything like Game Of Thrones on television.

Full Review | Original Score: A
Rob Power
SFX Magazine
April 12, 2019

It looked like "Valar Morghulis" was going to have a tough job topping the spectacular "Blackwater", but in the event was perhaps even more satisfying than last week's battle for King's Landing.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
TK Burton
Pajiba
April 12, 2019

There were some wild divergences from the novels, yet I found them all quite satisfying and well done enough that they're actually welcome.

Alfred Joyner
International Business Times
March 28, 2019

Game of Thrones finally came to its thrilling finale, tying up some loose ends but unravelling far more for us to ponder over until next April.

Amy Ratcliffe
The Mary Sue
March 27, 2019

I enjoyed it and felt some parts were completely awesome, but I could feel the rush to visit each character and wrap up storylines.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 27, 2019

Valar Morghulis suffered from having to follow the tightly focused "Blackwater"..._ _But in a few individual moments, "Valar Morghulis" was completely, utterly, powerfully honest. And I'll try to focus on moments like that.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 26, 2019

Game of Thrones doesn't feel like a bunch of actors playing at fantasy; it feels like a world inhabited by real people. And that, after two stellar seasons, may prove to be the series' biggest attribute.

Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
March 26, 2019

This episode had three impressive closing shots back-to-back-to-back to cement our major story lines.

Ed Cumming
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 26, 2019

Still, much to chew on from this season finale of this fantastic second series, even if it didn't quite hit the heights of episode nine.

Jonathan Lack
We Got This Covered
March 26, 2019

Not only do I feel the episode did justice to nearly every character and subplot, but it tied them all together under a unified thematic umbrella that gave significant weight and meaning to every part of this vast, wide-ranging fantasy epic.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 11, 2018

After "Blackwater" and this, has the show ever been better?

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 24, 2016

Season 2's final episode reminded us that maybe we should be paying more attention to what's happening north of the wall: That is, will any of this Lannister vs. Stark fighting matter when The Others attack?

Tobias J. McGuffin
TV Equals
March 23, 2016

Excellent, excellent episode. One of the most satisfying in its telling, with outstanding writing, especially with regard to the theme of this episode (despite its death-themed title): the pendulum swing between ice and fire.

Josh Jackson
Paste Magazine
March 22, 2016

Season 1's finale promised dragons. This time we get a legion of the undead.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
Sarah Hughes
Guardian
March 22, 2016

And so a fascinating if flawed season came to an end with well-paced final episode that left us with the feeling that this story is really only just beginning.