Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
April 12, 2019

Her [Marge] seduction of him [Joffrey] ... is among the most memorable, and disturbing, scenes of this young season.

TK Burton
Pajiba
April 12, 2019

I appreciate the slow burn, though I confess that I thirst for a bit more action now and again.

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
March 18, 2019

Now things are beginning to move. After the exposition of "Valar Dohaeris," last night's "Dark Wings, Dark Words" brought new character development and some genuine plays on the chessboard.

Rebecca Pahle
The Mary Sue
March 18, 2019

Save a few minor flat notes, it was glorious.

Alison Herman
Flavorwire
March 18, 2019

"Dark Wings, Dark Words" was Game of Thrones at its weakest.

James Moore
What Culture
March 18, 2019

After a slow, but no less welcoming, start to the new season.

Tim Surette
TV.com
March 18, 2019

While "Dark Wings, Dark Words" was light on instant gratification, it still offered plenty in the way of escapism. Nothing else on television right now feels like a vacation the way Game of Thrones does.

Will Salmon
SFX Magazine
March 18, 2019

Lots happened this week. Too much, perhaps?

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Henri Mazza
Birth.Movies.Death.
March 18, 2019

This episode was mostly talking, and there were no boobies, no dragons, and no one was murdered. But we did get a little bit of gross torture, so that's cool, and fortunately there was plenty of political intrigue.

James Lachno
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 18, 2019

These early-season episodes tend to be about cautiously positioning strands of plot like the first moves in an elaborate game of chess. Yet the action still moved along briskly enough.

David Chute
indieWire
Top Critic
March 18, 2019

If the opening episode of Season Three of "Game of Thrones" was mostly talking, Episode Two is mostly walking, though it sets a brisk pace and there's a lot to see along the way.

Erik Kain
Forbes
March 18, 2019

Game of Thrones is back in fighting shape after a bit of a lull last week as HBO's epic fantasy rose sleepily from its hibernation to reintroduce us to its web of plots, sub-plots, and its myriad characters.

Allison Keene
Collider
March 18, 2019

A lot of exposition this week touching on a lot of stories after a more restrained premiere, but still a strong episode.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Brian J. Roan
We Got This Covered
March 18, 2019

This was without a doubt one of the most actor-heavy episodes of Game of Thrones in quite some time, and given the languorous and decidedly academic tone of the last episode, the shift was most welcome.

David Crow
Den of Geek
January 10, 2019

Played by thespian royalty Diana Rigg, [Olenna Tyrell] absolutely steals the entire show in her brief appearance

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 12, 2018

Sophomore slumps are something of a given with Game of Thrones, but at the very least we're caught up with most of the central characters.

Todd VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

"Dark Wings" is still a terrifically paced episode of the show, and it's got me very excited for everything that's to follow.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Matt Richenthal
TV Fanatic
March 24, 2016

The momentum of an episode always seems to stop when we spend time with Snow. Fortunately, there was Olenna Tyrell to perk us right back up.

Adam Newland
TV Equals
March 24, 2016

Though the season is only two episodes old, it's difficult not to notice the character growth on Game of Thrones.

Christopher Orr
The Atlantic
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

Natalie Dormer's Margaery, too, is unfolding delightfully as the season progresses. I'd put her on the short list, with Bronn and Tywin, of the characters who've been most improved in the translation from page to screen.

Page 1 of 2