Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 5 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 5 Reviews

Page 2 of 2
Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

"Kissed by Fire" marks Season Three's halfway point, and it's the season's finest hour to date. It did everything Game of Thrones does well as well as Game of Thrones has ever done.

Shane Ryan
Paste Magazine
March 25, 2016

How great was Jaime's bathtub monologue? What does it say about me that most of my favorite actors are Lannisters?

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Brian Stitt
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

If this felt somewhat like a rushed episode of a daytime soap, I'll forgive it just for all enjoyment I'll get from Tyrion attempting to untangle all these threads.

Drew Grant and Noam Cohen
Observer
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

The whole "My name is Jaime" line while he lay in Brienne's arms, her calling for help for The Kingslayer, was perfect.

Nina Shen Rastogi
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

"Kissed by Fire," continued the sharp upward swing begun in episode four, with a tightly constructed hour tied together by some key visual motifs: flames and, uh, butts.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Katie Walsh
The Playlist
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

All in all, while relatively low on real action, this is a strong, densely plotted episode with many story elements and twists.

David Chute
Thompson on Hollywood
March 25, 2016

Our heads are spinning this week, as we found ourselves empathizing with the Kingslayer, of all people, and, in a pummeling trial-by-combat sequence, rooting against Arya Stark.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 25, 2016

This was the first Game of Thrones episode - and I'm saying this as someone who's read the books and knows generally where each story is headed - that made me really emotional.

Alicia Lutes
Hollywood.com
March 25, 2016

"Kissed by Fire" took a step back from the theatrics and got in heavy with the dramatics.

James Hibberd
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

This week's Game of Thrones featured Jon Snow and Ygritte stripping for steamy hot spring sex and Jaime and Brienne emotionally baring themselves in a tub as the fantasy hit continued its third-season streak of gripping episodes.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 25, 2016

The scenes flow together more nimbly than they often do, and each place feels more connected to the one glimpsed before it, rather than a random tour of Westeros and Essos.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

After last week's pyrotechnics it was back to business with a taut, well-paced episode in which we learned a great deal about a number of characters. Most notably, Jaime Lannister.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

"Kissed by Fire" lacked a climax as world-rattling and satisfying as Daenerys's emancipation conflagration (though Jon Snow and Ygritte might beg to differ), but it more than made up for it with an hour of deeply unsettling foreplay.

Jesse Carp
CinemaBlend
March 25, 2016

Stellar performances and impeccably written dialogue. Something tells me that Season 3 will have a few more possible 'best-ofs' before it's over.

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 25, 2016

The episode began with a sword fight we'd all been looking forward to: Beric Dondarrion (aka the Lightning Lord) vs. The Hound.

David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 25, 2016

Dare I say, Game Of Thrones is getting very soapy indeed, and I like it.

Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 2 of 2