Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 7 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 7 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
April 12, 2019

It's one of the more thorough of its kind, touching on early every plot this season has set in motion.

TK Burton
Pajiba
April 12, 2019

The good news is that even the most uneven of episodes is still better than the vast majority of other stories out there, and there were still some terrific moments to be mined from this week's entry.

David Chute
indieWire
Top Critic
March 19, 2019

The show has been effective this season in weaving together several plot lines to create a sense of one great flow of forward movement.

Tom Chivers
Daily Telegraph (UK)
March 19, 2019

It's still a powerful programme, and it's rare that it wastes a scene. But there are now so many characters that some major plot points - Arya's latest misfortune, for example - are squeezed into too little space.

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
March 19, 2019

That Ygritte used the same words to describe her relationship to Jon doesn't exactly bode well for how their story will play out this season. The vast impersonal forces of George R.R. Martin's world keep tearing spouses and lovers apart.

Paulo Javier Lazo
We Got This Covered
March 19, 2019

All in all, this was a mediocre Game of Thrones episode. I was shocked when I found out it was actually George R. R. Martin who had written it - the man who initially created all the great characters and setting we've grown so fond of.

Rob Power
SFX Magazine
March 19, 2019

Yet while "The Beast And The Maiden Fair" had its moments - and there's no denying it did - it still felt uneven, with storylines piled up too high and payoffs lacking impact.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Erik Kain
Forbes
March 19, 2019

While I didn't think this was the strongest episode of the season at all and felt a little bored here and there for the first time since the Season Premiere, I still enjoyed watching all the pieces line up.

Tim Surette
TV.com
March 19, 2019

I don't know if I'm saying that Jaime is genuinely a better person than Ned ever was, but the great part of Game of Thrones is that it creates these debates and the side you take is a reflection of who you are.

Allison Keene
Collider
March 19, 2019

"The Bear and the Maiden Fair" delivered some towards the end, the rest of the episode was fraught with rich character building and small payoffs that are certainly propelling us into some interesting situations for the final three episodes (I swear!).

Full Review | Original Score: A
Rebecca Pahle
The Mary Sue
March 19, 2019

This episode was the weakest so far this season, at least for me. It felt like a bunch of random, often unnecessary, scenes just got slapped together.

Alison Herman
Flavorwire
March 19, 2019

Unfortunately, "The Bear and the Maiden Fair" is everything "Blackwater" was not: routine, uneventful, and worst of all, slowing down a season that just hit its stride after the sluggish pace of its early episodes.

David Crow
Den of Geek
January 18, 2019

None of the Westerosi-set storylines feel like happy days are right around the corner. For a show once criticized as slow, Game of Thrones is moving like a freight train towards some awful, immovable object.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 12, 2018

The season story still suffers from a bit of meandering, this week's short shrift given to Arya, Bran, Gendry and Sansa, but each are afforded a few nice character moments within.

Todd VanDerWerff
AV Club
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Though not filled with fireworks (other than a super sweet bear fight), it nonetheless accomplishes what it sets out to do and gets the majority of the throat clearing out of the way for the season's final three episodes.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Chris O'Hara
TV Fanatic
March 28, 2016

Relationships certainly took center stage this week. Those like Tyrion and Sansa's, while arranged, might be the most honest of all as there seemed to be many a subversive plot brewing.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Adam Newland
TV Equals
March 28, 2016

The Kingslayer has gone from child assaulting incesterer to one of the noblest people on television.

Spencer Kornhaber
The Atlantic
Top Critic
March 28, 2016

That was a boring, frustrating episode, probably the worst of the season.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 28, 2016

It's another busy episode, but there's enough going on in most of the narratives that the audience has a better grasp of what's at stake for each character - though Theon's continued torment at the hands of his unnamed assailant is feeling rather tedious.

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
March 28, 2016

"Goodbye, Ser Jaime." I didn't expect to be moved to tears by Game of Thrones last night any more than Jaime Lannister himself did, I don't think.

Page 1 of 2