Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 9 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 9 Reviews

Page 2 of 2
Spencer Kornhaber
The Atlantic
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Benioff, Weiss, and director David Nutter deserve applause for how slowly and artfully they, uh, twisted the knife. The sequence of transitional shots remains indelible even the morning after.

Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 29, 2016

Seeing how the world of Game of Thrones works is one the most fascinating aspects of the series.

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Whether you came to this episode blissfully unspoiled or spent the last three years anxiously awaiting it, the impact was still absolutely punishing.

Shane Ryan
Paste Magazine
March 29, 2016

It was visceral, it was fast, and it had an odd emotionless quality to it, even as Robb was crawling toward his wife and Catelyn begged for his life. It feels weird to say something so awful was "well done," but man, that was really well done.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Brian Stitt
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

No other show can rip your guts out quite like this one. That isn't meant to be glib considering what happened to the future of House Stark tonight.

Drew Grant and Noam Cohen
Observer
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Last night packed enough developmental and emotional wallop to outdo even the first-season climax of Ned Stark losing his head. So please ... just a moment of respect.

Nina Shen Rastogi
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

As in last season's penultimate episode David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, who wrote the episode, and David Nutter, who directed, crafted an hour that felt tighter than most, with a consistent mood and tone that escalated beautifully.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Katie Walsh
The Playlist
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

So is everyone as horribly traumatized by episode 9, "The Rains of Castamere" as I am? We can work through this together. Recap therapy. We can do it. Yes, once again Game of Thrones lived up to its Penultimate Episode Promise of being crazy insane.

David Chute
Thompson on Hollywood
March 29, 2016

The single most significant Game of Thrones episode to date.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 29, 2016

An exquisitely awful event that managed to out-do the unpredictable and horrifying death of Ned Stark back in Season 1.

Abbey Stone
Hollywood.com
March 29, 2016

"Oh my God, Oh my God, Oh my God," was the only appropriate chorus for the colorful final 15 minutes of the penultimate episode of Game of Thrones' third season - hauntingly titled "The Rains of Castamere."

James Hibberd
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Tonight Thrones reached a crescendo of sorts... I don't think it's hyperbole to say it's one of the most shocking, brutal and disturbing sequences ever put on television.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 29, 2016

This was slaughter on a massive scale, orchestrated brilliantly by Walder Frey and Roose Bolton, and the "GoT" creative team made it every bit as impressive as was plotted out by those men and Tywin Lannister.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

The blood-drenched wedding of Edmure Tully and Roslin Frey was the harrowing centrepiece of a strong episode, albeit an episode with the occasional misstep.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

What's most interesting to me as this third season of Game of Thrones bleeds out all around us is the way its creators are playing with more than just television storytelling conventions. They're playing with storytelling itself.

Jesse Carp
CinemaBlend
March 29, 2016

It may take some time for audiences to get over the trauma of the "The Rains Of Castamere" or realize that the penultimate episode of the third season was one of the most thrilling, well-written and skillfully directed installments.

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 29, 2016

It doesn't always happen, but at least once a season Game of Thrones delivers an amazing episode of television. Sunday's "The Rains of Castamere" was such a moment.

David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

As a work of gripping serial television, how was this episode? It's almost impossible to grade, much like all of Game Of Thrones' big event episodes. But I think it worked pretty darn well.

Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 2 of 2