Game of Thrones: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 11, 2021
Watching every Game of Thrones episode involves a completely empty schedule and dedicated binge-watching skills...
July 28, 2021
Its early seasons felt revolutionary for how they subverted audience expectations, it propelled much of the show's female-centric cast to stardom, and its VFX may very well be the best we've ever witnessed on TV.
May 3, 2021
With its shocking plot twists, dark themes and giant budget, Thrones became a phenomenon and a cultural touchpoint.
September 3, 2020
[E]vents that feel bold and shocking based on what we've been trained to expect from television pop up regularly. ... [I]t means that we cannot trust what our instincts tell us about what television cannot or will not do.
February 12, 2020
[T]here is a deep and bitter socio-political study at the core of Game of Thrones, and quite a good one at that.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 23, 2019
if you replace the gladiators with a Lord of the Rings aesthetic, it's like a classier Spartacus: Gods of the Arena. And praise doesn't come any higher than that.
March 13, 2019
What's striking now is how coherent the vision for such a sprawling tale was from its very beginning.
March 7, 2019
Martin's saga goes to considerable lengths to create alternatives to the narratives of male growth.
May 11, 2018
As an über-fan of the books, this scratched most of my itches just perfectly. The casting is brilliant.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 3, 2018
Game of Thrones may be epic in its scope and often disconcerting in its content, but it's a strong production that handily delivers what George R.R. Martin fans have been waiting for. Now bring on Season Two!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 31, 2017
Special praise to Peter Dinklage's sardonic dwarf Tyrion, Michelle Fairley's Stark mother-bear Catelyn, and Sean Bean's super-Beany silent glower as Ned Stark.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 7, 2014
It's the stuff of fantasy geek heaven; a gritty period drama with letter-perfect clothes, weapons and lingo, yet unencumbered by historical facts or the weight of real events.
February 7, 2014
The series was created with such care, it has so many intricate elements that brings this world alive. It's like peeking into a microcosm!
February 7, 2014
What we have here is the successful pairing of an acclaimed collection of fantasy books with a television series that illuminates and expands what's on the page.
February 7, 2014
The main accomplishment of Game of Thrones is that, while it should keep the hard-core fans satisfied, even viewers who don't care whether Theon is a Greyjoy or a Tully can play along and have a good time.
April 17, 2011
HBO's high-fantasy extravaganza combines the drama of battling families with the extreme environments of The Lord of the Rings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 17, 2011
In terms of visual ambition and atmosphere, this series challenges the movie world on summer-tentpole turf, while simultaneously capitalizing on an episodic approach that allows the interlocking stories to unfold in a manner no feature ever could.
April 17, 2011
Game of Thrones deposits me in a world I never expected to visit and doesn't leave me feeling stranded and adrift, but eager to immerse myself in the local culture.
April 17, 2011
This epic, unflinching fantasy noir takes our preconceptions of chivalry, nobility and magic and gets medieval on them.
April 17, 2011
This is HBO's best dramatic series since The Wire and The Sopranos, hands down.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Page 1 of 2