Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 2 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 2 Episode 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
April 11, 2019

Yet as ugly as it got,... "The Night Lands," was also a thing of beauty, more impressive on a purely visual level than even its immediate predecessor.

TK Burton
Pajiba
April 11, 2019

This was one of those episodes where every single interaction was a marvel to watch, a testament to the strength of the show's writers.

Rob Power
SFX Magazine
April 11, 2019

It'd be enough to make you sick in your mouth if it wasn't so bloody entertaining, and true to form Game Of Thrones continues to intrigue and titillate in equal measure.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Laremy Legel
ComingSoon.net
March 19, 2019

All of the characters on "Game of Thrones" struggle, nothing comes easy, and this mirrors the demand on the audience's patience and intellect. But the struggle is well worth it.

Full Review | Original Score: B
James Poniewozik
TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 18, 2019

It's kind of a remarkable confrontation between Tyrion and Cersei, in part because she doesn't present as an utter monster.

Rowan Kaiser
indieWire
Top Critic
March 18, 2019

The Night Lands is tense and fast-paced despite its relative lack of event.

Devin Faraci
Birth.Movies.Death.
March 18, 2019

Game of Thrones has done some astonishing casting, and the fact that the actors who play these young characters have such incredible chemistry feels like a blessing. I'm going to enjoy watching these two [Arya and Gendry] interact.

Chris Swanson
What Culture
March 18, 2019

The second season is well-and-truly on now, and I am very pleased with the progress so far.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
James Hoare
SciFiNow
March 18, 2019

Just as we know that all this scene-setting and meandering is going somewhere spectacular - but on its own, 'The Night Lands' looks like one of John Norman's embarrassingly juvenile Gor books come to life.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 18, 2019

While magic and superstition were largely spoken of in the past tense during season 1, Game of Thrones has put these various notions front and center in season 2.

Daniel Harper
We Got This Covered
March 18, 2019

All in all, the excellent production quality, top-notch acting, beautiful locales and profound dialogue continue to make this, by far, one of the best programs on television.

Alan Sepinwall
Uproxx
March 18, 2019

Very good episode, if maybe a notch below the premiere.

Alex Fletcher
Digital Spy
March 18, 2019

Last week's season premiere showcased an even darker edge to the series and the bloody, filthy antics continued in week two with an extra dose of smut and table top sex.

Ron Hogan
Den of Geek
March 12, 2019

A leisurely pace in a show with a lot going on isn't a detriment. Even this episode of Game of Thrones merits multiple viewings to properly digest all that is going on.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 11, 2018

Game of Thrones season 2 has quite a number of stories to follow, but episodes like "The Night Lands" remind us how easily and readily we follow these characters across entire continents.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 24, 2016

So maybe it's not a surprise that the smartest guy in the room is the one who no one wanted at all. Peter Dinklage is really taking Tyrion to an entirely different level this season.

David Gilmore
Baltimore Sun
March 24, 2016

'The Night Lands' does not disappoint despite leaving Robb, Joffrey, Sansa and Catelyn on the bench.

James Hibberd
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

Tonight's Game of Thrones delivered more devious backstabbing intrigue, more exotic locations and gobs of explicit - and occasionally even necessary - sex (we'll debate that later).

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 22, 2016

I know it's a little bit geeky - OK, a lot geeky - but I get very excited each time we're introduced to a new bit of Westeros. Dragonstone was suitably stark yet majestic last week, and with this episode we headed to the Iron Islands.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 21, 2016

Very good episode, if maybe a notch below the premiere. Overall, though, the combination of Benioff, Weiss and director Alan Taylor tends to mean very good things for this show.

Page 1 of 2