Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 8 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 3 Episode 8 Reviews

Page 2 of 2
Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
March 29, 2016

'Second Sons' winds up managing the affair in an efficient fashion that also offers up a handful of terrific character moments, mostly belonging to one or more of the Lannisters.

Sean T. Collins
Rolling Stone
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Conflicting notions of duty, and of our moral obligation to do it, drive "Second Sons," as thematically unified an hour of Game of Thrones as we've seen all season.

Shane Ryan
Paste Magazine
March 29, 2016

The Game of Thrones writers just served up the third straight slow-drip episode with "Second Sons," and to me, this was the best of the bunch.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
Brian Stitt
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

At this point, any episode not featuring Theon and his mysterious tormentor would get a passing grade from me, but "Second Sons" was much better than just a pass.

Drew Grant
Observer
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Ever the underdog, [Sam] sticks to his whole whole "the meek shall inherit" bit by literally sticking it to one of the most feared and powerful beings we have seen on the show. He'll go on being my favorite accidental hero.

Nina Shen Rastogi
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

The wedding itself was a ton of fun to watch - especially, as is often true of weddings IRL, when people went off script.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Katie Walsh
The Playlist
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Let's pour some wine and raise a toast to Episode 8, "Second Sons."

David Chute
Thompson on Hollywood
March 29, 2016

This wedding was in some ways excruciating to watch, and we certainly didn't fault Tyrion for getting hammered. But it did serve one gratifying purpose, continuing his transformation into a de facto hero.

Matt Fowler
IGN Movies
March 29, 2016

"Second Sons" was a really strong episode that had the good sense to leave out Jaime, Robb, Jon Snow and Theon in order to spend more time with three great stories - with three amazing (and different) intimate bedroom scenes.

Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
James Hibberd
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Home stretch. Tonight's Game of Thrones is the most focused episode we've seen since Blackwater.

Alan Sepinwall
HitFix
March 29, 2016

"Second Sons" isn't exactly "Blackwater 2," but it's the most focused episode of the series since that one.

Sarah Hughes
Guardian
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

Game of Thrones is generally at its best when it stops whizzing around Westeros hoping to show us everything, and in contrast to last week's episode, which occasionally lagged, this week didn't waste a scene.

Andy Greenwald
Grantland
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

The sight of Davos being freed from the Dragonstone dungeon warmed my heart and seasoned this entire excellent episode because it was a reminder of just how wonderful Game of Thrones can be when it digs in instead of spreading out.

Jesse Carp
CinemaBlend
March 29, 2016

They are pulling out all the stops from here on out. Not that the series hasn't been fantastic all season long already.

Luke Broadwater
Baltimore Sun
March 29, 2016

Until now, Sam was the weakest of the weak, a walking embarrassment to the Night's Watch. Now, he's done what few others in Westeros could even dream of accomplishing.

David Sims
AV Club
Top Critic
March 29, 2016

The most crucial, fascinating, electric moment of the night came from Sam and Gilly's final scene, something I hardly expected to be typing, but there you go.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 2 of 2