Game of Thrones: Season 6 Episode 5 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Game of Thrones: Season 6 Episode 5 Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Randy Dankievitch
TV Over Mind
February 11, 2020

[A]n hour that continues to bravely push Game of Thrones forward into unseen territory, in what's shaping up to be a magnificent season.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Alyssa Rosenberg
Washington Post
Top Critic
April 5, 2019

Tonight's "Game of Thrones" was a particularly powerful exploration of how the people who live through great events begin to shape those narratives even before their stories are finished.

Rob Bricken
io9.com
April 5, 2019

I think there's a good chance that when the credits rolled on last night's episode, "The Door," ol' George stroked his beard and said, "Damn, I wish I'd thought of that."

Kayti Burt
Collider
April 5, 2019

The heartbreaking, yet satisfying information drop made for the best episode of the season so far.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jonathon Dornbush
Mashable
April 5, 2019

Hodor, we hardly knew you.

Sarah Marrs
Lainey Gossip
April 5, 2019

Hodor's sacrifice is a legitimately great moment, a heroic act from the most unlikely of people.

Jeff Spross
Brightest Young Things
April 5, 2019

At this point, there have just been too many episodes to say "The Door" is the best hour Game of Thrones has ever produced. But it's got to be in the top five, and certainly the best of this season so far.

Catalina Combs
Black Girl Nerds
June 26, 2018

Not only is [this episode's direction] as vast as space and as timeless as infinity, but a completely different dimension of sound, sight, and mind.

John DeVore
Decider
June 26, 2018

This week's episode was full of great stuff.

William Evans
Black Nerd Problems
June 22, 2018

They deserved better than this, man. Hodor. We all deserved better than this.

Kevin Fitzpatrick
ScreenCrush
June 19, 2018

There's so much to take in and discuss with "The Door," but for all their revelations and various ends, no Season 6 episodes to date have felt particularly earned or measured, at least beyond the intended shock value.

James White
Empire Magazine
Top Critic
November 7, 2017

Quite simply this was one of the best episodes of the show to date and a highlight in a season that has been building well after a sluggish start.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Soumya Srivastava
Hindustan Times
August 30, 2017

The Door has set a lot of things in motion and guys, Bran is important.

Ned Lannamann
The Stranger (Seattle, WA)
August 24, 2017

As thrilling and heartbreaking as the HBO show has ever been in all of its five and a half seasons.

James Hunt
What Culture
July 6, 2016

The Door ... delivered not only the best episode of the season to date, but one that is likely to go down as an all-time favourite.

Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Lenika Cruz
The Atlantic
Top Critic
June 21, 2016

I love it whenever the show shifts its attention from the usual, highly concentrated loci of power to the "regular folks" that populate the edges of Game of Thrones's world.

John Serba
MLive.com
June 15, 2016

Finally, we get a glimpse of this winter that everyone has been droning on about, a winter that came and went, and is apparently coming again. Or so I hear.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Blair Marnell
CraveOnline
June 6, 2016

On the whole, this was the strongest episode of the season to date, and by far the most affecting.

Michael Calia
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic
June 6, 2016

Well, have your eyes stopped crying and your mind stopped exploding after that ending?

Neil Miller
Film School Rejects
May 24, 2016

In its most tragic moment yet, season 6 finally answered some big questions about the future.

Page 1 of 3