Gilmore Girls: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 4, 2020
One of those shows that I have watched multiple times and will always stop and watch if I'm flipping channels on cable. It's comfort feel-good television.
October 1, 2020
Gilmore Girls starts kind of slow and relies a bit too heavily on pop culture references, but it's hard not to be charmed by Stars Hollow and its wacky inhabitants.
March 9, 2020
The writing constantly walks the line of clever and 'look at me, I'm being clever'. Doubletalk and witty dialogue permeate every sentence, and the result is sort of a 'Mamet for women'.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 9, 2020
Is it churlish to suggest that one of the most beloved and popular dramas currently on television is really kind of dull?
March 9, 2020
Yes, it has its share of soap-opera like moments, but what it also delivers is a lot of insight about growing up and dealing with the complications of life without being preachy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 9, 2020
It is smart, it is funny and it is morally uplifting.
March 9, 2020
The writing is good throughout - witty, but not drawing-room witty - and provides abundantly the small moments which, compounded, create a reality.
March 9, 2020
The comedy is diverting enough, but the poignant drama makes Gilmore Girls special. This series may not fit conventional expectations for family drama, but the show succeeds on that turf anyway.
March 9, 2020
It's a cheerful drama with great wit and a bold spirit.
March 9, 2020
The situation, of a daughter more mature than her mom, is familiar, true, but Amy Sherman-Palladino's writing, pointed and pop culture-savvy, brings fresh dimensions to it.
March 9, 2020
"Gilmore Girls" seduces viewers with its own fantasy world -- well-scrubbed New England town, elegant and happily hip young mom, a general sense of equilibrium -- but the cast's chemistry bubbles and the script is exceptional.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 9, 2020
Self-consciously precious at times, "Gilmore Girls" is lifted by dynamics between mother and daughter.
March 9, 2020
"Gilmore Girls" is a well-drawn tale of single-motherhood that stops short of being mushy.
March 9, 2020
Ordinarily, I frown on the mother-and-daughter-as-friends premise, but in this case, I tolerate it because a third mother -- Lorelai's mother -- is included in the mix, giving the show an interesting, three-way look at mother-daughter relationships.
March 9, 2020
Where most of the new shows I've been forced to sit through lately do just about everything wrong, "Gilmore Girls" gets most of the fundamentals right, especially the acting and writing.
March 7, 2020
Creator/executive producer Amy Sherman-Palladino has done a great job of taking a traditional TV format and making it hip.
March 6, 2020
The pilot for "Gilmore Girls" is a delight.
September 19, 2018
One of the best things about Gilmore Girls is that even small characters reappear throughout the show's run, giving a true sense of continuity to the storytelling and reality to the setting as a quirky, warm and interesting place to live.
September 19, 2018
The pilot just gives us the basics, but this heady poultice is already brewing away.
September 19, 2018
An amusing, highly promising light drama from the WB about mother-daughter bonding that is tender, warm and loving in a natural way without heaping on the schmaltz.
Page 1 of 2