Gold Digger: Miniseries Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 14, 2020
Despite the series' other issues, if you don't fall in love with Ormond while watching it, you are the one who should be questioned.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.2/10
May 12, 2020
Stream it, but only for Julia Ormond's fine performance and vulnerability.
May 1, 2020
A blend of romance and mystery, borne up by delectable touches of soap opera, the series races along charged with suspense from the first of its six parts to the last. This is the gold in Gold Digger, and there's a lot of it.
April 10, 2020
Julia Ormond is the one to watch in Gold Digger. She is in every frame that matters in this six-part series, and her performance never flags.
February 27, 2020
The appeal of Gold Digger is its writing, its relevance and the quality of acting.
February 5, 2020
Creator Marnie Dickens has fashioned a narrative that gives you just enough information to come up with the wrong answers even as you're buffeted by the personal flourishes. It's not subtle, but it's effective.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 7, 2019
That sense of doubt could apply to all the characters, because there are precisely no scenes where anything can be taken at face value.
December 2, 2019
It has certainly taken us to the cliff edge a couple of times -- literally -- although it is quite talky and static otherwise and keeps going round in the same, argumentative circles.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 20, 2019
Gold Digger has all the irresistible ingredients of a plea to an agony aunt.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 18, 2019
Something tells me Gold Digger is going to be a couple of objects short of a full museum display, but not in a good, Doctor Foster, way.
November 18, 2019
So far, so-so. But Julia and Ben have zilch chemistry.
November 18, 2019
It's wildly frustrating that despite her financial independence, incredible agency and clear accomplishment over her lifetime, the first time we hear someone describe Julia, it's as 'weak'.
November 18, 2019
Instead, the finished product floats between these two disparate ideas and ultimately fumbles both.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 18, 2019
Personally I'd suggest a genuine taboo would be Julia turning out to be a sad female fantasist, but I'm not holding my breath.
November 18, 2019
A bold and hugely entertaining attempt by writer Marnie Dickens
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 18, 2019
Even more implausibly, characters used Bing as their search engine rather than Google. I'm surprised they didn't Ask Jeeves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 15, 2019
Gold Digger is pretty good.
November 14, 2019
Strip away the stunning visuals and what do we have? Not much.
November 14, 2019
A tip of the hat to Julia Ormond for boldly going where many an actress might have chosen not to.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 13, 2019
If Gold Digger is slightly ludicrous, that's not to say it isn't also infuriatingly watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2